Centre to soon appoint Commission for delimitation of Assembly Seats in J-K; expected to have 114 seats in new UT

The Central Government will soon set up a Commission to carry out delimitation of Assembly seats in Jammu and Kashmir, which is now a Union Territory, government sources said as quoted by ANI.

Sources familiar with the development further added the delimitation work will only be carried out after the commission is set up by the Centre and a number of seats of the Union Territory will be decided.

The development came on the backdrop of the Upper House of the parliament, Rajya Sabha, on Monday, gave its nod to the resolution scrapping Article 370 from the valley that gives special status to the state.

The Rajya Sabha approved the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Bill 2019, that sought to divide the state into two territories – Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh. Jammu and Kashmir as a one Union Territory will have a legislature along with an L-G, while Ladakh without legislature.

Currently, Jammu and Kashmir as a state have the 87-member assembly of elected MLAs. The Kashmir valley region has 46 seats, the Jammu region has 37 seats and the Ladakh region has 4 seats.

As per the bill move in Parliament, The Union Territory (UT) of Jammu and Kashmir will have a Lieutenant Governor and the maximum strength of its legislative Assembly will be of 107 seats which will be further enhanced to 114 after delimitation move.

Earlier on Monday, Union Home Minister Amit Shah tabled a resolution to this effect in Rajya Sabha following which President Ram Nath Kovind issued a gazette notification – The Constitution (Application to Jammu and Kashmir) Order, 2019, that will come into force immediately.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah also introduced the bill to extend 10% EWS (Economically weaker sections) quota to Jammu and Kashmir.

The government has replaced the 1954 presidential order with the newly published Presidential order, 2019. The 1954 order was called on to inculcate 35A under Article 370 in the valley. Article 35A gives power to Jammu and Kashmir legislative assembly to define its residents and make special provisions for them.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here