The Indian Wire » Politics » Chandrababu Naidu, Mamata Banerjee hold ‘closed-door’ meet to explore possibilities of ‘Mahagathbandhan’
News Politics

Chandrababu Naidu, Mamata Banerjee hold ‘closed-door’ meet to explore possibilities of ‘Mahagathbandhan’

Telugu Desam Party (TDP) Chief N Chandrababu Naidu and Trinamool Congress (TMC) Supremo Mamata Banerjee on Thursday in Kharagpur held a closed-door meeting to discuss the possibilities of Federal Front after the results of national polls 2019.

The meeting between the two Chief Ministers took place for 15 minutes in Kharagpur, West Bengal. Chandrababu Naidu later also addressed a rally in support of West Bengal Chief Minister.

If sources to be believed, the Chiefs of two parties – TMC and TDP – held a discussion about the future plans of the Grand Alliance. TMC Functionary responding on a question about proposed Opposition meeting of May 21, said, the date of the Opposition meet is not final, It is expected that it will be postponed by days. It is likely to be held after the results, a party functionary added while Mamata Banerjee will be in the meet.

The two bigwigs also discussed the issue of VVPAT Verification and voting trend till phase-V polling.

Chandrababu Naidu is among those who were in the forefront to cement the pan India Anti-BJP Front before the mega battle of ballots. He has held discussions with top Leaders of AAPCongressRJD, and others. Naidu had recently met Congress President Rahul Gandhi in the national capital early this month.

Chandrababu Naidu meeting with TMC Supremo came on the backdrop when the former was is in the state to seek votes for later.

It should be noted that Trinamool Congress Supremo and West Bengal Chief Mamata Banerjee in a run-up to the national polls 2019 and Andhra State had visited Andhra Pradesh last month in April. Banerjee in Andhra Pradesh addressed several rallies for Andhra Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu who is seeking another term in the state assembly.

Voting in Andhra Pradesh has already concluded on the first phase of election on April 11. While in West Bengal that sends 42 parliamentarians, voting for national polls is being held in seven phases till May 19.

17 Lok Sabha seats of the state will go to polls in remaining two phases slated for May 12 and May 19. While 7 seats of the state voted on Monday under Phase-V.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!