Lok Sabha Polls: Chandrababu Naidu meets Deve Gowda, HD Kumaraswamy; discusses EVM, VVPAT

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu on Tuesday met JD(S) Chief HD Deve Gowda and Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy in Bangalore ahead of the results of the crucial Lok Sabha Polls 2019. The Leaders in the meeting discussed the EVM and VVPAT count issue.

Speaking to media after the meeting in Bangalore, Telugu Desam Party Chief said that he along with 21 other opposition parties met the ECI official earlier in the day in the national Capital. Naidu said, ‘We have demanded to verify all VVPAT slips with EVM if any mismatch is find during the counting of votes on May 23.

He added that the Poll Commission will conduct a meeting on Wednesday to discuss the Issue. Responding to a query by a scribe about JD(S) supporting Rahul Gandhi as PM, Naidu responded that ‘there is Nothing wrong in it, all of us will sit together and discuss after results’.

Speaking to the press, Naidu also launched a scathing attack on Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He said if Narendra Modi-led government spent 9,000 crores on VVPATs then why he is not backing us to counting VVPAT slips to ensure transparency and accountability.

However, both the leaders maintained that they have not discussed anything related to the coalition government. Responding to a query by a reporter, JD(S) Chief and Former PM HD Deve Gowda said, ‘Unless results are announced, we are not discussing anything about coalition’.

While on the other hand at least 21 Opposition parties led by TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu met the EC over VVPAT-EVM Count Issue. They demanded that 100% VVPAT slips be verified with EVMs in case a mismatch is found during counting from any assembly segment.

Chandrababu Naidu, once an ally of BJP, is among those who are spearheading the efforts to stitch Anti-BJP Front. Naidu in past one week met opposition leaders including Mamata BanerjeeSitaram Yechury, Rahul Gandhi, Sonia GandhiArvind KejriwalMayawatiAkhilesh YadavDeve Gowda, HD Kumaraswamy, among others.

It should be noted that almost all exit polls on Sunday predicted Prime Minister Narendra Modi to return in power.

Most of the exit polls predicted a clear Majority to Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) with above 300 seats. Polls predicted party’s landslide victory in Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand among others.

However, the Opposition parties have termed the exit polls as wrong and express a hope that the May 23 results will be very far from the trend suggested by the Exit Polls.

National Polls 2019 held in seven phases from April 11 to May 19. Counting of votes is slated for May 23.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Jenifer Aniston, Reese Witherspoon re-enact ‘Friends’ episode

Los Angeles, Oct 20 (IANS) Actresses Jennifer Aniston and Reese Witherspoon re-enacted an episode from the hit sitcom "Friends",...

UK PM refuses to sign letter requesting Brexit delay

London, Oct 20 (IANS) UK Prime Minister Boris Johnson has sent a letter to the European Union (EU) to request a Brexit delay, but...

Isla Fisher goes to market without make-up

Los Angeles, Oct 20 (IANS) Actress Isla Fisher went for a make-up free look for a trip to a market here.The actress, 43, opted...

‘Need mass movement against NGOs protesting development’

Panaji, Oct 20 (IANS) Union Minister for Railways Piyush Goyal has called for a mass movement against NGOs who protest development, calling it the...

UK MPs vote for amendment to force Brexit delay

London, Oct 20 (IANS) British lawmakers have voted for a key amendment to force British Prime Minister Boris Johnson to seek another Brexit extension...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This