Tough Time for Chandrababu Naidu continues: TDP leader Gangula Pratap Reddy joins BJP

In another blow to N Chandrababu Naidu‘s Telugu Desam Party (TDP), its senior leader Gangula Pratap Reddy on Thursday joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) saying that the progressive work of the party has attracted him. Senior Telugu Desam Party leader joined Bharatiya Janata Party in the national capital in the presence of its working President JP Nadda. 

Senior TDP leader Gangula Pratap Reddy had in the year 1991 vacated his Nandyal Lok Sabha Seat, making way for late Prime Minister PV Narasimha Rao to enter Lok Sabha after Rao became Prime Minister of the Country. The 68-year-old politician was considered very close to Congress at some point in time.

Speaking to media after joining the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) said that the progressive work and the national spirit of the party have attracted and influenced him to join the party.

He added that Prime Minister Narendra Modi is leading the nation with a good and a clean image. ‘We also want a contribution from down South in the country’s development’. Responding to a question whether he was being offered any post to turncoat, Reddy claimed, ‘I don’t aspire for any post’.

He is the former Rajya Sabha MP and was in the office from the year 1992 to 1998. Being a parliamentarian, he was a part of many committees including communication, Transport and Tourism.

The latest development came months after many TDP Leaders including its spokesperson Lanka Dinakar joined Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). TDP’s four out of its six Rajya Sabha MPs from Andhra Pradesh and Telangana shifted their loyalties to Bharatiya Janata Party in June.

Till now over 10 leaders, including Rajya Sabha MPs, MLC, Spokesperson and other leaders, from Chandrababu Naidu’s team jumped ship to join Bharatiya Janata Party. The development came on the backdrop when the party is facing a crisis after facing a crushing defeat in the national and state elections.

TDP in the polls suffered a huge defeat in Andhra Pradesh and only manage to win 23 Assembly seats in 175-member assembly. While in national polls, TDP could only manage to win 3 Seats while YSRCP bag 22 Lok Sabha Seats out of 25 seats in the state.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here