Chincholi and Kundagol go to by-polls with 25 candidates in both assembly segments

About twenty-five candidates contest the by-polls in Chincholi and Kundagol in Karnataka which are slated to be held on May 19.

About 17 Candidates contest for the seats in Chincholi in Kalaburagi and eight contest for the Kundagol seat in Dharwad in the by-polls to be held in the state.

“After the last day of withdrawals today (Thursday), 17 candidates are in the fray for the Chincholi (SC) seat in Kalaburagi district and 8 for the Kundagol seat in Dharwad,” an official said.

Avinash Jadhav of the Bharatiya Janata Party takes on Subhash V Rathod of the Congress party in the by-elections to be held in Chincholi on May 19. Kusumavathi  of the Congress takes on SI Chikkanagowdar of BJP in Kundagol contest. Almost 7.09 persons are first time voters in both assembly segments. The total voters in Kundagol amount to almost 1,89,444 and those in Chincholi amount to almost 1,83,869. The EC has exempted Karnataka government from implementing election code in Karnataka except the assemblies where the polling will take place.

Chincholi and Kundagol have 214 and 241 pollling stations respectively. 21 voters of the third-gender voters have been enrolled in the by-polls.With Sakhi and PwD booths set up for elections, other facilities for the maintenance of law and order have also been made like the setting up of static surveillance teams, and flying squads have been deployed in addition to the local police, armed reserves.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here