The Indian Wire » Politics » Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy meets Siddaramaiah, Dinesh Gundo Rao to keep coalition govt intact
News Politics

Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy meets Siddaramaiah, Dinesh Gundo Rao to keep coalition govt intact

Days after poll debacle of the alliance, Karnataka Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy on Tuesday met with Congress state chief Dinesh Gundu Rao and former chief minister SG Siddaramaiah. The trio is said to have discuss the post-poll strategies of the ruling alliance of Congress and JD-S in Karnataka.

The meeting holds importance amid the speculation of toppling of the coalition government of Congress and JD(S) in the state.

Earlier after landslide victory of the Bharatiya Janata Party in the recently held national polls, Chief Minister Kumaraswamy held an informal meeting of the Cabinet.

The Karnataka Congress has also called a CLP meeting on May 29 in a bid to sort out all differences and to take the stock of the situation of its coalition government.

The rough-patches between JD(S)-Congress came to the forefront during a run-up to the national polls in the Karnataka with leaders of both parties accusing each other. The tussle between the coalition has benefited the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state which swept the polls in the state bagging 25 Lok Sabha Seat. While JD(S)-Congress Coalition which is in power in the state managed to won one seat each.

However, Karnataka Congress Unit said that there is no threat to the coalition government in the state. Deputy Chief Minister G Parameshwara said that JD(S)-Congress combine government is safe and stable to continue in office despite electoral reverses in the 2019 Lok Sabha elections.

READ: G. Parameshwara: Karnataka Congress-JDS coalition government safe

Congress after Karnataka State Polls last year has extended Support to JD(S) and Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy with an aim to keep BJP out of the power.

However, in the last few months before the national polls, many attempts were made to topple the Coalition Government.

The Congress-JD(S) together has 116 MLAs in Karnataka Assembly earlier with Congress 79 and the JDS 37, while BJP has 104 in the 224-member Assembly. The halfway mark is 113.

Congress lawmaker Umesh Jadhav had in won the Lok Sabha Polls contesting on BJP ticket. Jadhav defeated Congress Stalwart Mallikarjun Kharge from Gulbarga Lok Sabha Seat.

Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) swept the state in the recently held national polls by bagging 25 seats while Congress and JD-S won one seat each.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon