The Indian Wire » Politics » CM Mamata Banerjee to lead TMC rally againts Citizenship (Amendment) Act; Protest will be held in Kolkata on 16 December

CM Mamata Banerjee to lead TMC rally againts Citizenship (Amendment) Act; Protest will be held in Kolkata on 16 December

Speaking against the recently passed Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has decided to lead the protest of Trinamool Congress aginst the Citizenship Act. The protest will be organized by the TMC party in Jadavpur area in Kolkata on the coming Monday (16 December).

Just like Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan, Mamata Banerjee has also announced that she will not implement the Citizenship (Amendment) Act.

Informing media about her protest, the TMC president also said that her party will protest on the district-level across the state. Earlier on Friday, ruling CPI (M) party and the opposition Congress has also decided to organized a joint protest against the legislation in Kerala.

Informing the public about the protest, CM Mamata Banerjee said that the Trinamool Congress (TMC) will launch the protest on Monday. The protest will begin from the Ambedkar statue, and it will pass through the Gandhi statue. The protest will finally see its climax at Rabindranath Tagore House in Jorasanko. She also added that the neighboring state Assam is already in turmoil over the issue and it is the time that her party has to stand with the people.

Mamata also accused the ruling Bhartiya Janta Party of playing with the secular idea of the nation. She termed the ruling government as a “curse“. As quoted by ANI, she said, “They can implement the Act wherever they are in power. We are in power in West Bengal and will not allow it here. Even the people of Bengal will not allow its implementation.”

Parliament has approved the passage of Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2019 on Wednesday. President Ram Nath Kovind has also given his assent to the CAB bill on Thursday. The Citizenship (Amendment) Act, 2019 bill seeks to declare Hindus, Jains, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zorastrian, Parsis, and Christians from Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and Pakistan eligible for citizenship who came to India before December 31, 2014. Although the Bill only carries the provision of citizenship for the non-muslim population that arrived from the neighboring nations.

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!