The Indian Wire » Politics » Congress gears up for Gujarat assembly polls
News Politics

Congress gears up for Gujarat assembly polls

Congress Rahul Gandhi Sonia Gandhi
Congress in Gujarat appointed 4 working President keeping in mind all the castes ahead of the state assembly polls due in December this year.

Gujarat will be facing the assembly elections in December this year and the political parties are all set to fight the polls.

While BJP is confident about winning the term again, Congress has also boosted up its hopes after the victory of Congress candidate Ahmed Patel in the Gujarat Rajya Sabha polls. After its veteran leader Shankersinh Vaghela left the party taking along around six more legislators with him, Congress was feeling a little discouraged and disheartened to win the confidence of the people.

Congress in Gujarat has been facing problems within the party itself with too many faces hoping to contend as the CM face. Taking advantage of this, BJP tactfully playing its moves is trying to change the political equations in its favour. However after Congress candidate Ahmed Patel defeated the BJP candidate Balwant Singh Rajput and confirmed a fifth term for himself in Rajya Sabha, the party has seen a ray of hope, which it was badly in need of.

After getting the boost the party was waiting for Congress has again geared up to fight against BJP in the Gujarat Assembly polls due in December this year. Forming strategies for its election campaign the party has appointed four working presidents in the state. While appointing these presidents Congress has carefully tried to balance all the castes. Party high Command Sonia Gandhi also announced that Pradesh Congress Committee (PCC), office bearers and election committee will now also be a part of the campaign.

Party Vice-President Rahul Gandhi on Friday announced the new working Presidents in Gujarat PCC. Tushar Chaudhary, a tribal leader and son of former chief minister Amarsingh Chaudhary, Patel leader Paresh Dhanavi, Patel leader Kuwarji Bawaliya, who belongs to OBC and Karsan Das Sonali, a Dalit leader are the new presidents and they also represent the four parts of Gujarat. While Bharatsinh Solanki the chief of PCC is a Khastriya.

A day after Rahul announced the new working Presidents, the new PCC office bearers and the members of the election committee were also appointed. A 32-member state election committee was formed which comprised of almost all senior leaders of Gujarat Congress. A fresh set of PCC office-bearers were also appointed which included, 10 PCC vice-presidents, 15 general secretaries and 7 spokespersons.

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!