Congress nominates Karnataka MP for Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairperson post

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...

On Wednesday, Congress announced its own candidate for the Deputy Chairman post in Rajya Sabha. Karnataka Congress MP BK Hariprasad is Congress’ nominee for the post, reported NDTV.

On Tuesday the speculation was that the opposition parties nominee will be NCP MP Vandana Chavan. But a consensus could not be reached among the opposition on her name, reported FirstPost.

After the second round of meeting among the opposition parties, Chavan’s name was proposed as the face of the opposition by Bahujan Samaj Party lawmaker Satish Chandra Mishra and supported by TMC MP Derek O’Brien. Congress also backed her name for the Deputy Chairperson post.

However, on Wednesday Congress changed its decision, and nominated Karnataka MP Hariprasad. “The party (Congress) must have taken this decision after a lot of thinking. We will talk to all the opposition leaders and discuss what is to be done,” told Hariprasad to the media.

NCP backed out after Odisha CM Naveen Patnaik indicated that his party will not support Chavan’s candidacy. The NCP said that it needed the support of Shiv Sena and Patnaik’s BJD, NDTV reported.

NDA has nominated JD(U)’s Harivansh Narayan Singh for the Deputy Chairperson post. According to PTI, Bihar CM reached out to TRS chief Chandrashekar Rao and BJD president Naveen Patnaik to ask for their support.

The current strength of the Rajya Sabha is 244 and if all members are present, then the majority required is 123.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Joe Biden shakes off allegations, starts afresh

Boston, Oct 15 (IANS) As the key trinity of Democratic candidates socialist Bernie Sanders, capitalist Elizabeth Warren and centrist...

Cara Delevingne says she’s the ‘luckiest girl’

Los Angeles, Oct 15 (IANS) Model-turned-actress Cara Delevingne feels that she is the "luckiest girl in the world", thanks to her girlfriend Ashley Benson.Delevingne,...

Rihanna stumped by pregnancy query in interview

Los Angeles, Oct 15 (IANS) Vogue editor-in-chief Anna Wintour shocked Rihanna with a blunt question on whether the pop diva was planning to "have...

Finnish PM says all Brexit alternatives “still possible”

Helsinki, Oct 15 (IANS) Finnish Prime Minister Antti Rinne said in Helsinki that the "situation after Brexit is very open", Finnish News Agency STT...

Dutch royals visit waste water treatment project

New Delhi, Oct 15 (IANS) An Indo-Dutch collaboration on successfully treating waste water on a stretch of the Barapullah Drain to make it fit...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This