Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Conrad Sangma-led NPP announces 5 Candidates in Assam

The Conrad Sangma-led National People’s Party gearing up for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019 released the first list of 5 Candidates for Assam. The Central Committee of the National People’s Party Assam under the provision of Article 13 of the Constitution of the party declared 5 candidates:

  1. Nazia Yasmin Mazumdar from Silchar Seat
  2. Ram Bahadur Sunar from Tezpur
  3. Abdul Aziz from Kaliabor
  4. Kamala Rajkonwar from Jorhat
  5. Bhaben Baruah from Dibrugarh
READ: Mass resignation jolts BJP in Northeast; 18 lawmakers resign to join NPP

The NPP Assam Unit is gearing to contest on all 14 seats of Assam all alone. The party intensifying its hunt has started the poll campaign, and currently focussing on the membership drive. The Conrad Sangma-led NPP in a run-up to the general elections 2019 received a major boost in Arunachal Pradesh with many leaders from BJP shifted loyalties to Conrad Sangma-led party.

NPP in its poll campaign is focusing much on Citizenship Amendment Bill. A controversial bill that seeks to amend the Citizenship Act, 1955, to grant Indian nationality to people belonging to non-muslim minority communities  — Hindus, Sikhs, Buddhists, Jains, Parsis and Christians — in Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan after six years of residence in India instead of 12, even if they don’t possess any proper document.

NPP in Assam will take on Bhartiya Janta Party and Congress. Both INC and BJP have started rolling out the list of Candidates. The Bhartiya Janta Party has so far declared 9 candidates out of total 14 with Tapan Gogoi contesting from Jorhat Parliamentary Seat.

While Congress has declared Candidates on 10 seats with Sushmita Dev contesting from Silchar, Gaurav Gogoi from Kaliabor and Biren Singh Angti from Autonomous ST Seat.

READ: Check out Full list of Congress Candidates for Lok Sabha Elections 2019

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Assam will vote in three phases – April 11, April 18 and April 23.

In 2014 General Elections, BJP won 7, All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) and Congress on 3 seats each while 1 seat goes to Independent Candidate.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here