CP Joshi unanimously elected as Rajasthan assembly speaker, Gulab Chand Chand as protem speaker

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1168037199767457792 Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Unlike Madhya Pradesh, the election of Speaker and Pro-tem in Rajasthan Assembly completed peacefully. Former Union minister CP Joshi on Wednesday was elected unanimously the speaker of the 15th Rajasthan Legislative Assembly. CP Joshi, a Congress lawmaker from Nathdwara, was named for the post by the party’s top leadership.

Joshi was the MP from Bhilwara in the 15th Lok Sabha and had served as the Union Minister for Road Transport and Highways and Panchayati Raj from 2009 to 2013.

Congress MLA Mahesh Joshi has been appointed as chief whip of the party, while Mahendra Choudhary the deputy chief whip.

The 68-year-old Congress veteran took over the chair relieving pro-tem speaker Gulab Chand Kataria after the House passed the motion moved for his election by a voice vote.

Earlier on Sunday, BJP picked Gulab Chand Kataria as the Leader of Opposition in the assembly. The 8-time Legislator and Former Home Minister Kataria’s name was proposed by Former Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje which was unanimously supported by all party’s lawmakers in the all MLA meeting.

While former Parliamentary affairs minister and Lawmaker from Churu Rajendra Rathore have been appointed as its Deputy by the Saffron Party.

Gulab Chand Kataria had on Monday took oath as the Pro-tem speaker of the 200 member assembly of the state.

The BJP had on December 11 won 73 seats out of the 199 in Rajasthan elections which were held last month, losing out to the Congress which formed the government after winning 99 seats after getting support from others including BSP.

The First Session of the House begins on Tuesday, Jan 15. The Budget session of the state assembly is likely to be held in February.

ALSO READ: After BJP’s walkout, NP Prajapati unanimously elected as Madhya Pradesh assembly speaker


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Home rental startup NestAway raises ₹34.92 cr in Series D round from Goldman Sachs

NestAway Technologies, a home rental startup, has secured ₹34.92 crore as part of its ongoing Series D round from...

Shraddha Das shows how to pull off a Saree look in THIS latest photo

Shraddha Das is a well known movie actress who is known for her work in Telugu, Hindi, Malayalam, Kannada and Bengali films. Das was...

Epic Games might bring an ‘Area 51-themed Traveller skin’ to Fortnite on September 20th

Epic Games introduced Fortnite’s Season 10 on August 1. Until recently, Fortnite was running on v10.20 wherein it brought us many new features including the new ‘Zapper Trap’...

SRI Capital leads $3 million pre-Series A round in health tech startup Meddo

SRI Capital led a Pre-Series A round with $3 million (approx ₹21 crore) investment in a health tech startup Meddo, with participation from growX...

Erica Fernandes looks sublime in her Bikini on a beach, Check out the photo

Erica Fernandes is a well known TV actress who is known for her roles like Dr. Sonakshi Bose in Kuch Rang Pyar Ke Aise...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This