Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Amid Talks with Congress; CPI(M) Led Left Front Announces 25 Candidates in West Bengal

Must Read

President Ram Nath Kovind appoints new governor for Kerala, Telangana, Himachal Pradesh and Maharashtra

President Ram Nath Kovind appointed new governors for Maharashtra, Kerala, Telangana, Rajasthan, and Himachal Pradesh on Sunday. https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1168037199767457792 Former Union Minister Kalraj...

NRC list for Assam released; Fear looms as 19 lakh people face exclusion

NRC (National Register of Citizens) for Assam has been published at 10 am today. The final list excludes over...

Lateral Entry Era Begins as Union govt. appoints 9 professionals to Joint Secretary posts

The government has appointed its first batch of private professionals to the post of Joint Secretary in various ministries....
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The CPI(M) led Left Front in West Bengal on Friday announced its candidates in 25 Lok Sabha seats out of 42 total seats of the state for the upcoming Lok Sabha Polls 2019. The left front in Bengal consists of – Communist Party of India(M), All India Forward Bloc (AIFB), Revolutionary Socialist Party (RSP) and Communist Party of India (CPI).

As per the statement released by the front, CPI(M) will file its candidates on 15 seats while all three allies, AIFB, RSP and CPI will have three seats each to ‘play on’. The statement further said that it has been decided that the alliance will support an Independent Candidate Rejaul Karim on Birbhum Lok Sabha seat.

The statement further said that rest of 17 seats will be contested by Congress and few of them will be contested by the left front.

The names declared by the left Front includes Mohd Salim from Raiganj Lok Sabha Seat, Badrudoza Khan from Mursidabad Lok Sabha Seat, Bikash Ranjan Bhattacharya from Jadavpur Lok Sabha Seat, Fuad Halim from Diamond Harbour Lok Sabha Seat.

READ: Election Commission to visit Mamata’s Bastion West Bengal After BJP’s ‘Sensitive State’ Request

Other names in the list include Nandini Mukherjee from Kolkata South, Subhas Naskar from Joynagar, Pallab Sengupta from Basirhat, Bir Singh Mahato from Purlia, Nepaldeb Bhattacharya from Dum Dum, Govinda Roy from Cooch Behar, Mili Orao from Alipurduar, Rama Biswas from Ranaghat and Maksuda Khatun from Uluberia.

However, the left front said that it will not field its candidates on the seats that were won by Congress in 2014 General Elections that includes, Baharampur, Jangipur, Malda North and Malda South.

The list of left Front came amidst both CPI(M) and Congress were holding final rounds of deliberations over seat sharing in the Mamata Banerjee‘s bastion West Bengal. In 2016 Assembly Polls, The Left parties and the Congress had come together to take on the Trinamool Congress. The coming together of the Left Front and Congress in the upcoming General Elections will also turn the Lok Sabha poll three-way fight.

Ruling Trinamool Congress has already announced its candidates on all 42 Lok Sabha seats with over 40% tickets distributed to female candidates. While Bhartiya Janta Party is currently busy in catching bigwigs from TMC and Congress in the state.

General Elections 2019 are slated April-May that will spread in 7 seven phases starting from April 11. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting. The Polling in all 42 Lok Sabha seats of the state will spread in all seven phases starting from April 11.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Injured Nadal pulls out of final two Laver Cup matches

Geneva, Sep 22 (IANS) US Open champion and tennis star Rafael Nadal withdrew from his matches at the Laver...

Congress, Rahul ‘playing politics’ on J&K, says Shah (Lead)

Mumbai, Sep 22 (IANS) Union Home Minister Amit Shah on Sunday attacked the Congress and its former President Rahul Gandhi in the issue of...

Chinmayanand case: In which both parties are culprits and victims

By Sanjeev Kumar Singh ChauhanShahjahanpur, Sep 22 (IANS) Call it the power of the ubiquitousness of technology. The rape and blackmail of the Shahjahanpur...

Carolina Marin caps comeback from injury with China Open win

Changzhou (China), Sep 22 (IANS) Olympic champion Carolina Marin on Sunday beat Taiwanese former world no.1 Tai Tzu Ying to win a second consecutive...

Modi to address Indian diaspora at ‘Howdy Modi!’

Houston, Sep 22 (IANS) Prime Minister Narendra Modi on Sunday would attend the mega 'Howdy Modi!' event being organised at the NRG stadium here...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This