Lok Sabha Polls 2019: DMK announces Candidates in 20 Seats in Tamil Nadu; M Kanimozhi set for Electoral Debut

DMK who has inked an alliance with Congress and other small parties in Tamil Nadu for the General Elections has on Saturday released its list of 20 Candidates in Tamil Nadu. DMK who has kept a lion share of 20 seats fielded Kanimozhi from Tuticorin Parliamentary seat. This will be her first time in the electoral politics, M Kanimozhi, Daughter of DMK patriarch M Karunanidhi had in past been a Rajya Sabha Member.

Apart from Kanimozhi, Party has given tickets to :

  1. A Raja from Nilgris Reserved Lok Sabha seat
  2. Dayanidhi Maran from Chennai Central Lok Sabha seat
  3. TR Balu from Sriperumbudur Lok Sabha seat
  4. S Jagathrachagan from Arakkonam Lok Sabha seat
  5. Kalanithi Veeraswamy for Chennai North Lok Sabha seat
  6. Tamizhachi Thangapandian for Chennai South Lok Sabha Seat
  7. Gautham Sigamani for Kallakurichi Lok Sabha Seat
  8. TM Kathir Anand for Vellore Lok Sabha Seat
  9. G Selvam for Kancheepuram reserved Lok Sabha Seat
  10. S Senthil Kumar for Dharmapuri Lok Sabha Seat
  11. CN Annadurai for Thiruvannamalai Lok Sabha Seat
  12. SR Parthiban for Salem Lok Sabha Seat
  13. K Shanmugasundaram for Pollachi Lok Sabha Seat
  14. P Veluchamy for Dindigul Lok Sabha Seat
  15. TRPS Ramesh for Cuddalore Lok Sabha Seat
  16. S Ramalingam for Mayiladuthurai Lok Sabha Seat
  17. SS Palanimanickam for Thanjavur Lok Sabha Seat
  18. Dhanush M Kumar for Tenkasi reserved Lok Sabha Seat
  19. S Ganathiraviam for Tirunelveli Lok Sabha Seat
  20. Kanimozhi from Tuticorin (Thoothukudi) Lok Sabha Seat

Apart from announcing the candidates for 20 Lok Sabha Seats, Party has also declared Candidates for the by-elections to the 18 Assembly seats that will also go to polls together with General Elections 2019.

  1. A Krishnasamy for Poonamallee(SC)
  2. RV Sekar for Perambur
  3. SR Idhayavarman for Thiruporur
  4. A Ashokan for Sholingur
  5. S Kathavarayan for Gudiyatham (SC)
  6. R Vilvanathan for Ambur
  7. SAH Sathya for Hosur
  8. A Mani for Pappireddipatti
  9. A Krishnakumar for Harur (SC)
  10. C Soundarapandian for Nilakkottai (SC)
  11. Poondi Kalaivanan for Thiruvarur
  12. TKG Neelamegam for  Thanjavur
  13. Ilakiyadasan for Manamadurai (SC)
  14. A Maharajan for Andipatti
  15. KS Saravana Kumar for Periyakulam (SC)
  16. SV Srinivasan for Sattur
  17. S Sampath Kumar for Paramakudi (SC)
  18. SV Jayakumar for Vilathikulam

Apart from Congress, DMK has finalized terms with 6 parties comprising – left parties like CPI(M)CPI, and MDMK, VCK, IUML, KMDK and IJK. The DMK Led alliance recently finalized the seat sharing arrangement in Tamil Nadu with all its allies.

The DMK led alliance will take on the ruling AIADMK alliance of which BJP is a part.

Tamil Nadu has total 39 Lok Sabha Seats while Puducherry has a single Lok Sabha seat.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Tamil Nadu will vote to April 18 for Lok Sabha as well as on 18 by-elections seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here