DMK led Alliance Announces seat arrangements in TN for Lok Sabha Polls, MK Stalin keeps all Chennai Seats

DMK who has inked an alliance with Congress and other small parties in Tamil Nadu for the General Elections has on Friday declared the list of Lok Sabha Constituencies from where the MK Stalin led party will field its candidates.

As per the statement released, the DMK who has kept a lion share of 20 Lok Sabha seats will have its Candidates from : Chennai South, Chennai North, Chennai Central, Sriperumbudur, Kancheepuram(SC), Arakkonam, Vellore, Dharmapuri, Thiruvannamalai, Kallakurichi, Salem, Nilgiris(SC), Pollachi, Dindigul, Cuddalore, Mayiladuthurai, Thanjavur, Thoothukudi, Tenkasi(SC), and Tirunelveli.

While its other partners like Congress have been given Thiruvallur(SC), Krishnagiri, Arani, Karur, Tiruchirappalli, Sivaganga, Theni, Virudhunagar, Kanyakumari, and the union territory of Puducherry. The Rahul Gandhi led party has got nine seats in the state, and a single seat of Puducherry as apart of the poll pact.

Apart from Congress, DMK has finalized terms with 6 parties comprising – left parties like CPI(M)CPI, and MDMK, VCK, IUML, KMDK and IJK.

VCK has been allotted SC reserved seats of Chidambaram(SC) and Villupuram(SC), while, IUML will contest from Ramanathapuram, KMDK from Namakkal and IJK from Perambalur.

Left Parties, CPI(M) who have been given tow seats to play on will field its candidates on Madurai and Coimbatore. CPI bags Lok Sabha seats of Nagapattinam(SC) and Tiruppur of the state.

The DMK led alliance will take on the ruling AIADMK alliance of which BJP is a part.

The AIADMK led alliance have – AIADMK, BJP, PMK, KMDK, Puthiya Neethi Katchi and NR Congress. BJP has been offered 5 seats, DMDK been settled for 4 seats, while PMK gets 7 Lok Sabha seats to field their candidates in the mega battle of ballots.

Tamil Nadu has total 39 Lok Sabha Seats while Puducherry has a single Lok Sabha seat.

General Elections are slated for April-May this year that would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on Sunday declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Apart from Lok Sabha Polls, by-elections in 18 seats of the state will be held simultaneously in a single phase of polling on April 18.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here