Lok Sabha Polls: EC issues notice to Congress Leader Sanjay Nirupam for ‘controversial’ remark on PM Modi

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The Poll Body on Tuesday issued a show cause to Congress Leader Sanjay Nirupam over his controversial against Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The Election Commission of India in a notice stated that it prima facie finds Nirupam of violating the model code of conduct.

Congress Leader has been asked to furnish a response on the same within 24 hours. It has been alleged that Sanjay Nirupam while speaking in Varanasi made controversial remarks about the Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Nirupam reportedly speaking in Uttar Pradesh‘s Varanasi on May 7 said, ‘I feel that the person that people here have chosen- that Narendra Modi is actually the modern incarnation of Aurangzeb’. He added, ‘What Aurangzeb could not do, that Narendra Modi has done.’

He speaking in UP’s Varanasi further attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi for dragging the name of former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi.

Congress Candidate from Mumbai North-West Lok Sabha Seat Sanjay Nirupam who was in Varanasi to seek votes for Congress Ajay Rai. Rai is pitched against Prime Minister Narendra Modi who is seeking his second term from the Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat.

Modi had in 2014 General elections defeated AAP’Arvind Kejriwal with over 3.80 Lakh votes. Prior to Narendra Modi, BJP Senior Leader Murli Manohar Joshi represented the Varanasi Seat since 2009-2014.

SPBSP has announced Shalini Yadav as its Candidate for the mega polls.

Varanasi Lok Sabha Seat along with 12 other seats of the state will go to polls on May 19, four days before counting.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23. Voting of the remaining 59 constituencies will be held in last and seventh phase slated for May 19.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Bollywood is not my cup of tea: Muzaffar Ali

By Sukant DeepakNew Delhi, Nov 18 (IANS) Filmmaker Muzaffar Ali, credited for giving some critically acclaimed films including "Umrao...

Vigilance cases against 6,817 govt officers in Odisha

Bhubaneswar, Nov 18 (IANS) Odisha Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik on Monday said 6,817 corruption cases against government officials are under various stages of trial...

Sarfaraz should focus on domestic cricket for comeback: Imran

Islamabad, Nov 18 (IANS) Pakistan Prime Minister Imran Khan has opined that former captain and wicketkeeper Sarfaraz Ahmed can make his way back to...

To the brink & back: Vodafone-Idea stocks jump 25% (Lead)

Mumbai, Nov 18 (IANS) Vodafone-Idea Ltd (VIL), on Monday which had hinted at not being able to remain as a going concern if relief...

Samsung Galaxy S11 may offer 8K video recording

Seoul, Nov 18 (IANS) South Korean tech giant Samsung is reportedly planning to introduce 8K video recording support to its upcoming smartphone Galaxy S11....
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This