EC notifies date for Patkura Assembly Seat in Odisha; Voting slated for May 19

The Assembly Polls in Odisha’s Patkura seat which was slated for April 29 now will be conducted on May 19, Election Commission notified the same on Wednesday. Earlier, the assembly elections to Patkura assembly constituency of Odisha was deferred in the wake of the death of Biju Janata Dal (BJD) candidate Bed Prakash Agarwalla.

Bed Prakash Agarwalla had earlier won from the same constituency twice in 2009 and 2014. The Staunch Leader from BJD was a four-time lawmaker from Kendrapara Assembly seat.

Chief Electoral Officer Surendra Kumar in a letter to the Deputy Election Commissioner (ECI) Chandra Bhushan Kumar informed about the incident for countermanding the election in Patkura assembly under Section 52(1) (c) of the Representation of People Act, 1951.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: In the new list, BJP declares Candidates on 4 seats in Delhi; Manoj Tiwari from Delhi North East

The Election Commission of India on Wednesday authorised Biju Janata Dal (BJD) to nominate a candidate for the polls in Patkura Assembly Seat. As per the notification, The last date for filing nominations is 1st May. The election will be held on 19th May. Counting will be held as usual on 23rd May along with General Elections result.

The Assembly Polls in Patkura seat was originally slated for April 29. Bharatiya Janata Party has named Bijaya Mohapatra for the Patkura Assembly seat.

In Odisha, BJD in a run-up to the polls is taking on the aggressive Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress. The Polls in the state will be held across four rounds.

The State has a total of 147 State Assembly while having 21 Lok Sabha Seats. Currently, BJD has 117 lawmakers in the state assembly.

The Counting of votes for the mega battle of ballots and the State Polls will take place on May 23, four days after last round of polling.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here