The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: EC orders re-polling at one polling Station in West Bengal’s Cooch Behar
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: EC orders re-polling at one polling Station in West Bengal’s Cooch Behar

The Election Commission of India on Wednesday ordered repolling at a polling station 181 in West Bengal‘s Cooch Behar that went of polls in the first phase of voting on April 11. The EC move came after all the political parties approached the Poll Commission demanding re-polling on many polling stations of the Lok Sabha Seat.

The Poll Commission said that the re-polling will be held on April 29. It was alleged that voters were stopped from casting vote on this particular polling station in Mamata Banerjee’s Bastion.

Total Electorates on the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha Seat is 1,613,417.

Bharatiya Janata Party Candidate from the seat Nishit Pramanik had on April 11 during the polling held a sit-in-protest in front of the District Magistrate’s office demanding a re-poll in 500 polling booths. Pramanik alleged that State Police deployed in the polling booths were working in favor of ruling TMC.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Mamata Banerjee writes to EC; alleges Central Forces of seeking Votes for BJP

Apart from this, Congress, Trinamool Congress and Left Front also approached the Poll Commission demanding re-poll in many polling stations from the parliamentary seat. EC had for Polls in Cooch Behar setup over 2,010 polling stations across the parliamentary seat.

For Cooch Behar Lok Sabha Seat, BJP has named Nisith Pramanik, TMC has named Paresh Chandra Adhikary while Gobinda Roy is Left nominee for the Lok Sabha Seat. Congress has named Piya Roy Chowdhury as its nominee.

West Bengal in the initial three phases of voting has witness number of cases of violence reported from various parts of the state. General Elections have already begun and would spread across seven phases from April 11 to May 19. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23.

10 Lok Sabha Seats of West Bengal including Cooch Behar, Raiganj, Murshidabad, Maldaha among others have voted already voted in first three rounds of Polling.

West Bengal has a total of 42 Lok Sabha Seat and will the voting in the state will spread across on all seven phases till May 19.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!