Lok Sabha Polls: EC puts Nominations of Gautam Gambhir, Ramesh Bidhuri on ‘Hold’ after AAP raises Objections

The Poll Officials on Wednesday ‘put on hold’ the nominations of Bharatiya Janata Party Candidates Gautam Gambhir and Ramesh Bidhuri in the national capital. The move came after AAP’S Atishi and Raghav Chaddha raised objections on the nomination forms filed by both of them.

Aam Aadmi Party has accused both BJP Candidates of having discrepancies in their nominations filed by them. The Poll Commission has given time to both the leader to file their response of the allegations. The Poll Commission is expected to hear them later in the day.

BJP Sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri is pitched against AAP’s Raghav Chaddha and Congress’ Vijender Singh. Raghav Chaddha alleged that the papers filed by sitting MP have discrepancies.

While Atishi who is in the fray from Delhi East has raised objections on the certificates filed by BJP Candidate Gautam Gambhir. It is alleged that the stamp paper on which the affidavit has been furnished is dated April 23 whereas the notarial stamp on two affidavits submitted by the Cricketer-turned-Politician Gautam Gambhir has a date of April 18 and April 19, a statement from the party stated.

READ: Here is the list of Candidates announced by Congress-led UPA for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

In Delhi East Lok Sabha Seat, Gautam Gambhir is facing AAP’s Atishi and Congress’s Arvinder Singh Lovely.

Ramesh Bidhuri has been asked to respond by 5 pm today while Gautam Gambhir by 3pm.

Tuesday was the last day of filing nominations for the Lok Sabha elections in Delhi, which is due on 12 May.

A total of 439 nominations have been filed for 7 Parliamentary Seats of the national capital. Tuesday was the last date to file nomination for May 12 polls. North East Delhi has received the highest number of nominations accounting to a total of 74 whereas North West Delhi has received only 39 nominations.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

BJP in Delhi will be taking on Aam Aadmi Party and Congress. All 7 seats of Delhi will vote on May 12. Tuesday was the last day to file nominations.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here