Tue. Jun 25th, 2024

The Poll Commission of India on Sunday sacked District Magistrate of Bankura in West Bengal, Uma Shankar from his post after the violence erupted during the Phase-VI polling. A Bharatiya Janata Party worker was injured badly after in a clash with TMC workers in Booth Number 1 in Bankura parliamentary constituency.

Mukta Arya has been appointed as the new DM of Bankura district of the West Bengal. The Chief Electoral Officer in a statement said, ‘The Commission had directed that Ms Mukta Arya (RR-2008), IAS to be posted as DM-cum-District Election Officer (DEO) with immediate effect”.

Arya has been asked to take charge on Monday and the state government directed to send a compliance report by 10 a.m. on Monday.

In Bankura Lok Sabha Seat, BJP has named Subhash Sarkar who is up against Subrata Mukherjee of TMC and Amiya Patel of CPI-M.

Just like initial 5 phases of elections, Phase-VI also saw violence in the state where TMC is facing intense resistance from Bharatiya Janata Party. BJP in the state is leaving no stone unturned to make a mark in the state.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. 59 seats under Phase-VI voted on May 12. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23. Voting of the remaining 59 constituencies will be held in last and seventh phase of polling slated for May 19.

Polling in West Bengal’s 42 Lok Sabha Seat is being spread on all seven phases. 9 Lok Sabha seats of the state will go to polls in the last phase of the election slated for May 19.


By talharashid

Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *