The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls: EC serves notice to Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia for alleged Poll Code Violation
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls: EC serves notice to Arvind Kejriwal, Manish Sisodia for alleged Poll Code Violation

The Election Commission of India on Monday served notices to Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal and Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia following a complaint by Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Delhi President Manoj Tiwari. Both the top Leaders of the party were served notices on separate matters.

In a complaint to the Poll Commission, Bharatiya Janata Party Delhi Chief Manoj Tiwari stated that AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal in a poll campaign has intentionally made a derogatory remark. He accused Delhi CM Arvind Kejriwal intentionally insulted his profession and the Poorvanchali community on Saturday while addressing a poll rally.

Addressing a public in Delhi North East during a roadshow, said, ‘Manoj Tiwari naachta bahaut acha hai, Pandey ji (AAP’s North-East Delhi candidate Dilip Pandey) ko naachna nahi aata, kaam karna aata hai, is baar kaam karne wale ko vote dena, naachne wale ko vote mat dena. [Manoj Tiwari knows well how to dance, but don’t know how to work for people, This time vote for those work for you Pandey does not know how to dance. Pandey knows how to work’].

Responding on the remarks, Manoj Tiwari had said earlier said, ‘By abusing me he has directly insulted people of ‘purvanchal’ and the same people will now show him what are the consequences of it.’

While Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia was issued a notice by the Poll Commission for allegedly distributing the letters to voters highlighting the achievement of the party. It came following a complaint by BJP’s Girish Sachdeva who accused Sisodia of violating the Poll Code.

Earlier on May 2, The Chief Electoral Officer of the national capital sought replies from three top AAP leaders – Party Chief Arvind Kejriwal, AAP Candidates Raghav Chadha and Atishi for making their tweets asking voters ‘not to waste their votes’ by voting for BJP candidates Gautam Gambhir and Ramesh Bidhuri claiming that they will be ‘disqualified’ soon.

AAP is contesting all 7 seats in the national capital. The party has named Atishi from Delhi East, Raghav Chaddha from Delhi South, among others for the mega battle of ballots.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23.

All 7 parliamentary seats of Delhi will vote on May 12. The Campaign for Phase VI will come to halt on May 10.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!