The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Former Union Minister Krishna Tirath rejoins Congress after 4 years
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Former Union Minister Krishna Tirath rejoins Congress after 4 years

In a big boost to Congress, Former Union Minister Krishna Tirath on Friday rejoined the Congress after a gap of four years. Tirath had in 2015 joined Bharatiya Janata Party and had unsuccessfully contested Delhi State Assembly on BJP ticket.

Tirath, a popular Dalit Face, was a Minister of State in the Congress-led UPA government.

Kirath began her political career as a Legislator in Delhi and was a member of the Delhi Legislative Assembly between 1984–2004. In 1998, she became the Minister for Social Welfare, SC & ST and Labour & Employment in the Sheila Dikshit led Delhi government.

She had in 2004 General Elections defeated BJP’s Anita Arya. She was re-elected from the same Delhi North West in 2009. She had in 2014 general elections lost to Udit Raj from Delhi North West. Later, She had in 2015 ahead of Delhi Assembly Polls joined BJP and contested unsuccessfully.

READ: Here is the list of Candidates announced by BJP-led NDA for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

She has joined Congress today in presence of Delhi State In-Charge PC Chacko and Abhishek Manu Singhvi.

However, Tirath will contest the Lok Sabha Polls 2019 or not is still not clear.

While PC Chacko talking about the possibilities of Alliance with AAP said, ‘AAP wanted to have an alliance in other states also which is not practical. Every state is different; we will announce the seats tomorrow or day after tomorrow. If they are ready for an alliance in Delhi with Congress, we are ready even today’.

However, it is now almost clear that both AAP and Congress will now go on its own in Delhi and in other states. Sources familiar with the development claimed that party Central Election Committee is likely to meet this afternoon and announcement of all 17 seats of both Delhi and Haryana is possible.

AAP in a run-up to the mega polls 2019 has already announced candidates on all seven seats of Delhi and many Candidates in Punjab also. While the party today also announced its poll tie-up with Dushyant Chautala’s Jannayak Janata Party (JJP).

As per the poll pact, Aam Aadmi Party will contest on three Parliamentary Seats while JJP will have its Candidates on remaining seven Lok Sabha Seats of the State.

Polling on all seven seats of Delhi will be held in a single phase of May 12, the sixth phase of voting.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!