The Indian Wire » Politics » First Session of 17th Lok Sabha to begin today; Union Budget, Triple Talaq Bill on cards
News Politics

First Session of 17th Lok Sabha to begin today; Union Budget, Triple Talaq Bill on cards

The First Session of 17th Lok Sabha will begin from June 17th, today and will continue till July 26. While the President Ram Nath Kovind will address the joint session of both the houses  Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha –  on 20th June.

The Economic Survey will be released on the 4th of July a day before. While next day, that is on July 5th, new Finance Minister Nirmala Sitharaman will table the full-fledged budget in the House.

The government had in February this year presented an Interim Budget.

In the first session of the 17th Lok Sabha that slated to start from today, the new government plans aims to convert 10 ordinances into law. All those ordinances were approved by the Union Cabinet in February-March this year by the previous government.

With the Narendra Modi‘s coming back to power, he will give a fresh push all proposed laws in the newly-constituted Lok Sabha. It should be noted that out of the total 55 Bills, Twenty Two bills lapsed with the dissolution of 16th Lok Sabha on February 13.

Among the most controversial bills that lapsed were Citizenship Amendment Bill 2016, Triple Talaq Bill, Adhaar and Other Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2019 that was cleared by Lok Sabha but got stuck in the upper House of the Parliament.

Election to elect a new Speaker of the House will be held on June 19th. Former Speaker Sumitra Mahajan did not contest the national polls 2019. BJP MP Maneka Gandhi is among the top contenders for the post.

The oath to all the newly elected MPs will also be administrated in the first parliament session of 17th Lok Sabha by pro-tem speaker Dr. Vijendra Singh. He will be administrated oath by the President Ram Nath Kovind today.

While Both the Houses – Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha – will take on the motion of thanks and PM Modi will reply on the same.

Ahead of the Parliament Session, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) reconstituted its Parliamentary Body on Wednesday with PM Narendra Modi as the leader of the party, While Rajnath Singh as Deputy leader of the party (Lok Sabha).

READ: BJP constitutes Parliamentary Party Executive Committee: Amit Shah to continue as President

The party has also appointed Whips in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha, While the party has appointed Kailash Vijaywargiya as the Prabhari of BJP Parliamentary Party Office.

As per the Statement by the party, It has named following Leaders as the Special Invitees (Lok Sabha) – Nitin Gadkari, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Arjun Munda, Narendra Singh Tomar, Smriti Irani, and Jual Oram.

While in Rajya Sabha, the party has named following Leaders Special Invitees – JP Nadda, Om Prakash Mathur, Nirmala Sitharaman, Dharmendra Pradhan and Prakash Javadekar.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon