Upset with Cabinet reshuffle; Goa Forward Party snaps ties with BJP-led Goa Govt; withdraws support

Goa CM Pramod Sawant

Hours after Cabinet reshuffle in Goa, Bharatiya Janata Party ally Goa Forward Party (GFP) on Sunday withdrew its support from BJP-led State government. In a letter to Goa Governor Mridula Sinha, the party said it will sit in opposition.

In a page letter, Goa Forward Party President Vijay Sardesai stated, ‘Political Affairs Committee and The legislature party wing of the Goa Forward Party met and has decided to unanimously withdraw support to the BJP government led by Pramod Sawant’.

However, he claimed that the party would not oppose the government since the GFP played a role in formulating the policies that are in force.

Talking to media, Goa Forward Party President Vijay Sardesai asserted that he will be suggesting the government when and wherever required. ‘We will suggest things to the government that will fulfill the aspirations of the people of aspirations’.

As quoted by Times of India, Sardesai said, ‘We will sit in the opposition’.

The announcement came right after Pramod Sawant sacked three GFP MLA from his cabinet in a bid to make a way for Congress defectors.

Earlier on Saturday, Chief Minister Pramod Sawant inducted three Congress defectors and Micheal Lobo in his state cabinet. The four new ministers have been inducted in the state cabinet after 3 Ministers of Goa Forward Party and One Independent Minister were dropped by Chief Minister Pramod Sawant earlier in the day.

The Cabinet reshuffle came days after the 10 out of 15 Congress MLAs in Goa shifted loyalties and merged with the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party. Following the merger episode, Congress is left with just 5 MLAs in the state where it was the single largest party after 2017 Assembly polls. While Bharatiya Janata Party has now 27 MLAs in 40-member Assembly.

Bharatiya Janata Party is now heading the government with 24 Legislators, MGP has one, while 3 are Independent MLAs.

While the opposition has now 6 MLAs – 5 from Indian National Congress and a lone from Nationalist Congress Party (NCP).

Vijay Sardesai-led GFP has three Legislators.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here