BJP ruled Haryana clears 10% EWS Quota in Government Jobs and Education Sector

Manohar Lal Khattar

The Haryana State Cabinet on Wednesday decided to give 10 percent reservation to the economically backward among the general category in jobs and educational institutions in the state. The Decision was taken in a Cabinet meeting that held under the Chairmanship of Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar.

The 10 percent reservation will be given to Economically Weaker Sections in recruitment to various category of posts including Group A, B, C, and D, in all Departments, Boards, Corporations and Local Bodies of the state government. Apart from this, The BJP ruled state has also decided to grant 10 per cent reservation to the EWS in admissions to all educational institutions in government or government-aided educational institutions.

‘Those persons will be excluded from the benefits of reservation if their families own or possess five acres of agricultural land and above, residential flat of 1,000 square feet and above, residential plot of 100 square yards and above in notified municipalities, residential plot of 200 square yards and above in areas other than the notified municipalities and any immovable property worth more than Rs 1 crore’ the government release stated.

With this implementation, Haryana joined the list of states such as Gujarat, Jharkhand, and others which have implemented the recent legislation of the Modi government giving reservation benefits to EWS among the general category.

However, The quota will be over and above the existing 50 percent reservation to SCs, STs and Other Backward Classes (OBCs) in the state.

Apart from this, The cabinet also approved the establishment of State Sports University to promote sports education, and the Haryana State Youth Policy aimed to empower the youth to achieve their potential to facilitate all-round development of the society.

It also approved the State Culture Policy called ‘Kala Evam Sanskriti Haryana Neeti’. The objectives of the policy are to protect, preserve, conserve and manage the cultural heritage of the Haryana.

Among other decisions, the Cabinet approved the proposal for implementation of Delhi-Gurugram-SNB Corridor of Regional Rapid Transit System (RRTS).

In order to decongest the national capital, the central government has planned three RRTS corridors — Delhi-Ghaziabad-Meerut, Delhi-Gurgaon-Alwar and Delhi-Sonipat-Panipat to enable fast commute from cities around Delhi in the NCR.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here