Congress appoints Nabam Tuki as new Arunachal State Unit Chief; picks Lombo Tayeng as CLP leader

The grand old party, Indian National Congress, on Wednesday, picked former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki as the new President of the state unit. Former Chief Minister Nabam Tuki will be replacing Takam Sanjoy as the new Chief of the Arunachal Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC).

While in another announcement, the party has also replaced its CLP leader. The party has now appointed Lombo Tayeng as the leader of Congress legislature Party (CLP). Tayeng will be replacing Takam Pario.

The announcement about the new appointments was made by AICC General Secretary KC Venugopal. In a press statement, he stated, ‘Hon’ble Congress President has appointed Shri Nabam Tuki as PCC, President Arunachal Pradesh. Shri Lombo Tayeng has been appointed as the Leader, CLP in Arunachal Pradesh’.

The statement further added, ‘The party appreciates the contribution of outgoing PCC President Takam Sanjoy and CLP Leader Takam Pario’.

READ: CBI files corruption case against Former Arunachal Pradesh CM Nabam Tuki, his brother and Others

It should be noted that the Central Bureau of Investigation (CBI), early this month, has registered a case against Former Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Nabam Tuki on corruption charges of cheating and forgery.

Congress in the national and state polls held this year faced a crushing defeat in the state. The Congress with just 16% vote share won four seats in the 60-member assembly. It has also lost both the Lok Sabha seats of the state.

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) with over 50% of vote share bagged 41 assembly seats in the 60-member state. While Janata Dal-United JD(U) with almost 10% vote share bagged seven seats and National People’s Party (NPP) five seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here