The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls: Congress Bhadohi President Neelam Mishra resigns over ticket given to ‘outsider’
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls: Congress Bhadohi President Neelam Mishra resigns over ticket given to ‘outsider’

In a major setback to Congress ahead of the last phase of elections, it’s Uttar Pradesh‘s Bhadohi Chief Neelam Mishra on Saturday resigned from the grand old party. Mishra resigned the party alleging it of ignoring the local leadership by giving a ticket to an outsider.

Neelam Mishra speaking to a news agency ANI said, “Lok Sabha ticket was given to an outsider Ramakant Yadav who came from Bharatiya Janata Party. It was a huge blow for us. In a meeting, we tried to talk to Priyanka Gandhi about it. But she got upset & said insulting things”.

She further claimed that when the local leadership approached Priyanka Gandhi, she got angry and use such words that should not have been used by a general secretary of any party.

Mishra further said that party workers in the state will support the BSPSP Candidate Rangnath Mishra. She claimed Ragnath Mishra is a Local Candidate and will support him in the national polls 2019.

Following the resignation of Neelam Mishra from the grand old party, Bharatiya Janata Party Spokesperson Sambit Patra slammed Congress and said it exposed the ‘Namdaar’ mentality of the Congress Party. Slamming the Congress, Patra said Priyanka Gandhi used derogatory Language and it also exposed the farcical claims of party of treating everyone with love.

Bhadohi Lok Sabha Seat would vote in the 7th phase of the Lok Sabha elections on May 19. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has named Ramesh Chand who is up against Ramakant Yadav of Indian National Congress and Rangnath Mishra of BSP.

General Elections 2019 is being held across seven phases starting April 11 to May 19. 59 seats under Phase-VI voted on May 12. Counting of the votes will be held on May 23. Voting of the remaining 59 constituencies will be held in the last phase slated on May 19.

Polling in Uttar Pradesh’s 80 Lok Sabha Seat is being spread on all seven phases. 13 Lok Sabha seats of the state will go to polls in the last phase of the election slated for May 19.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!