The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress moves EC against Arvind Kejriwal for making ‘communal’ remarks; demands ban from campaigning
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress moves EC against Arvind Kejriwal for making ‘communal’ remarks; demands ban from campaigning

AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal‘s ‘communal’ comment targetting the Congress drew a sharp reaction from the party with the grand old party on Friday filed a complaint with Poll Commission demanding action against Delhi Chief Minister. The party requested the Poll Body to ban poll Commission to ban Arvind Kejriwal.

Congress Delegation comprising Former MP Sandeep Dixit, and other Top Leaders from the national capital met the Delhi Electoral Officer and lodged a complaint against the Delhi Chief Minister. Congress alleged that the AAP Chief Arvind Kejriwal made a communal appeal by asking Muslim voters not to vote for the Congress.

Dixit was accompanied by Delhi Congress leader Mangat Ram Singhal, spokespersons Ramakant Goswami, Jitendra Kochar, and Onika Mehrotra.

Speaking to media after meeting and submitting the memorandum to Delhi CEO, Sandeep Dixit, two-time MP from Delhi East said during our meeting with the electoral officer we have demanded a ban on Delhi CM from campaigning for making a communal appeal to Muslims.

We have requested a strict action against the Delhi Chief Minister as his comments were highly communal in nature and irresponsible.

It should be noted that Arvind Kejriwal during the launch event of party’s poll manifesto on Thursday asked the Muslim voters not to get confused. Kejriwal reportedly said, ‘Muslim in the parliamentary elections should not vote for Congress as it’s not even getting Hindu votes’

He further training guns towards Congress and accused them of weakening the Opposition in states like Uttar Pradesh, Kerela, West Bengal and other such states.

Slamming the Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Arvind Kejriwal speaking during the launch event said only Rahul Gandhi will be responsible for Modi-Shah comes to power again.

AAP is contesting all 7 seats in the national capital. The party has named Atishi Marlena from Delhi East, Raghav Chaddha from Delhi South, among others for the mega battle of ballots. Aam Aadmi Party in a run-up to the mega polls will take on Bharatiya Janata Party and Indian National Congress. 

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 across the nation has already begun and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23.

All 7 parliamentary seats of Delhi will vote on May 12.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!