Congress MP Bhubaneshwar Kalita steps down from Rajya Sabha opposing party’s stand on scrapping Article 370

Congress RS MP Bhubaneswar Kalitha

In what can be seen as a fresh setback to grand old party, it’s Chief whip and Rajya Sabha MP Bhubaneshwar Kalita on Monday stepped down from the party and the parliament after the party’s stand on the scrapping of Article 370 and bifurcation of the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories.

Vice President and Rajya Sabha Chairman M Venkaih Naidu announced that he has accepted the resignation of Congress Parliamentarian.

Bhubaneshwar Kalita, as quoted by news18, said that he was asked by the party to issue a whip but this is against the mood of the nation’. In a letter, he stated, ‘The party as it is on its way towards destruction and I can’t be a contributor to it’.

Kalita’s tenure in the upper house of the parliament was slated to end next year in April 2020. The resignation of two-time MP from Assam comes days after Sanjay Sinh, a member of the erstwhile Amethi royal family who has joined the BJP.

However, it is still not clear whether Bhubneshwar Kalita will join the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party. 

Apart from Congress MP, Samajwadi Party Parliamentarian from Uttar Pradesh Sanjay Seth also tendered his resignation from the parliament.

The resignation of Rajya Sabha MPs from Congress and Samajwadi Party came ahead of the voting on the crucial resolution revoking Article 370 in Jammu and Kashmir and a bill to bifurcate the state into two Union Territories of Jammu and Kashmir, and Ladakh.

Earlier in the day, Union Home Minister Amit Shah tabled a resolution to this effect in Rajya Sabha after President Ram Nath Kovind issued a notification – The Constitution (Application to Jammu and Kashmir) Order, 2019, that will come into force immediately.

Union Home Minister Amit Shah also moved the Jammu and Kashmir (Reorganization), Bill in the Upper House of the Parliament. The Bill sought the bifurcation of the state into two Union Territory with Jammu and Kashmir having a legislature and while Ladakh without legislature.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here