Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress picks Boxer Vijender Singh for Delhi South Seat

Congress on Monday announced its seventh candidate for the national capital for

Expressing his gratitude towards Congress President Rahul Gandhi, Vijender Singh took to Twitter and said, ‘In more than 20 yrs of my career in boxing i have always made my country proud in the ring. Now its time to do something for my countrymen & serve them. I would like to accept this opportunity & thank @INCIndia party @RahulGandhi ji @priyankagandhi ji for this responsibility’.

Bharatiya Janata Party Sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri had in 2014 national elections won from Delhi South with over 1 lakh votes by defeating AAP‘s Colonel Devendra Singh Shekhawat. Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Senior Leader Sushma Swaraj had in past represented the seat twice in 1998 and 1996.

While hours before the announcement of his candidature, Vijender Singh resigned from Haryana Police.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress announces 6 Candidates in Delhi; fields Sheila Dixit against Manoj Tiwari

Earlier in the party has named its candidates on 6 Lok Sabha Seat of the national capital naming JP Aggarwal from Chandi Chowk, Sheila Dixit from North East Delhi, Arvinder Singh Lovely from East Delhi, Ajay Maken from New Delhi, Rajesh Lilothia from North West Delhi-SC and Mahabal Mishra from West Delhi.

With this, the party has named its candidates on 420 Parliamentary Seats.

Congress announced its nominees for Delhi days after a fresh round of deliberation between AAP and Congress stuck off with Congress not in favor to extend the Alliance outside Delhi. While AAP wants alliance in Haryana and Chandigarh too.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and over 180 Lok Sabha Seat has already voted in initial two phases. General Elections 2019 would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. All seven seats of the national capital will go to poll on May 12.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting. In 2014 General Elections, banking of heavy Modi wave, BJP won all 7 seats in the national capital.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here