Congress picks Ranvir Sharma for Agra North By-election in Uttar Pradesh

Must Read

Sanju Samson to replace Shikhar Dhawan in T20 series against WI

Sanju Samson will replace injured Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan in the T20s series against West Indies starting from next...

Supreme Court lashes out on Centre & Delhi govts for Rising Pollution

The Apex Court of the Country, the Supreme Court on Monday lashed the Central and State Government for their...

Harbhajan Singh wishes BCCI Prez Sourav Ganguly to change Selection Panel

The Indian off-spinner Harbhajan Singh on Monday urged Sourav Ganguly, President of BCCI (The Board of Control for Cricket...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

The Indian National Congress on Tuesday named Ranvir Sharma as its candidate for the by-election to the Agra North assembly constituency in Uttar Pradesh. While Bharatiya Janata Party till now has not made any announcement about the candidate. SP-BSP Gathbandhan has also not announced its Candidate for the by-election.

The by-poll on the seat was necessitated following the death of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Sitting MLA Jagan Prasad Garg on April 10 due to cardiac arrest.

The Election Commission had on April 19 announced the schedule for by-elections to Agra North and Darjeeling Assembly constituencies in Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal, respectively.

Agra-North Assembly constituency is among the five assemblies of the Agra District. The Assembly constituency came into existence in 2008 as a result of the “Delimitation of Parliamentary and Assembly Constituencies Order, 2008. The Assembly polls went to polls for the first time the year 2012.

In both elections, BJP’s Jagan Prasad Garg won the seat. In 2017 assembly elections, Garg has defeated BSP‘s Gyanendra Gautam with approx 1 lakh votes. While in 2012 state polls, Garg defeated BSP nominee Rajesh Kumar Agrawal with 20,000 votes.

The polling in both the seats – Agra North and Darjeeling will take place on May 19, while the counting of votes will be done on May 23. The last date to file nomination is April 29.

While Agra has already voted for national polls on April 18 in the Phase-II.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Delhi fire tragedy: How it all started

More than 140 illegal factories were operational in the narrow lane of Anaj Mandi of Karta Gauri Shankar. The...

Offline discovery and rewards space Magicpin passes annual gross merchandise value of $1 billion

Magicpin, an offline discovery and rewards platform, has surpassed annual gross merchandise value (GMV) of $1 billion (approx INR 7,129 crore) in the country,...

Delhi fire tragedy: PM, Delhi CM and Bihar CM announce ex-gratia

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has announced an ex-gratia of Rs. 2 lakhs each from Prime Minister's National Relief Fund (PMNRF) for family of those...

Unnao victim’s kin: ‘No cremation, until CM Yogi visits us’

The Unnao rape victim's family has refused to cremate her body until Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh, Yogi Adityanath visits them and assures strict...

Delhi: Fire at Luggage Manufacturing Factory Claims Lives of 43 People

Massive fire broke out at 5AM on Sunday, at a luggage manufacturing factory in north Delhi and claimed lives of 43 people. People who...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This