The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress picks Shatrughan Sinha, Navjot Singh Sidhu among 40 Star Campaigners for Delhi
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Congress picks Shatrughan Sinha, Navjot Singh Sidhu among 40 Star Campaigners for Delhi

Intensifying its hunt to make a comeback at the Centre and to counter a three-way fight in the national capital, Congress finalized a list of 40-star Campaigners who will be the party’s face and will galvanize support for the party in the mega battle of ballots 2019. The party in a letter to the election body has mentioned the names of 40 campaigners for the elections due for May 12, the sixth phase of elections.

The party in the list included its President Rahul GandhiSonia GandhiManmohan SinghPriyanka Gandhi, Shatrughan Sinha, Ghulam Nabi Azad, Bhupinder Singh Hooda, among others.

The party in its 40 name list also included Sheila Dixit, Ahmed Patel, Kapil Sibal, Jyotiraditya Scindia, Deputy CM of Rajasthan Sachin Pilot, and Navjot Singh Sidhu, among others. Several senior from Delhi also included in the list like Haroon Yusuf, Subhash Chopra, Devender Yadav, Narendra Nath, Ragini Nayak and Kiran Walia.

However, The party has not named Former BJP MP Udit Raj as its star campaigner who has joined Congress recently. Raj has been replaced by the Bharatiya Janata Party with Sufi Singer Hansraj Hans for mega polls 2019.

Raj has been named by Congress as a Star Campaigner for Punjab and Chandigarh.

Speaking about the pre-poll strategy, a Delhi State functionary said that party will mainly focus on the roadshows to reach out to voters in the national capital. We also suggested a mega roadshow for the Priyanka and Rahul Gandhi before May 6, a party functionary told.

READ: Elections 2019: Congress names 40 Star Campaigners for Punjab, Chandigarh; includes Udit Raj among others

Congress after rounds of deliberations with AAP failed is contesting on all seven seats on its own in the national capital. The party has named DPCC Chief and Former CM Sheila Dixit against Manoj Tiwari from Delhi North East, Boxer Vijender Singh has been named from Delhi South Lok Sabha Seat against sitting MP Ramesh Bidhuri and AAP’s Raghav Chadha, among others.

Congress in the national capital is taking on the Bharatiya Janata Party and Aam Aadmi Party. For the first time, BSP has named its candidates on all seven seats of the national capital.

General Elections 2019 has already begun and is being held in seven phases starting from April 11 to May 19. All Seven Parliamentary Seats of the national capital will vote on May 12, the sixth phase of polling.

Bharatiya Janata Party in 2014 national elections bagged all seven seats in the national capital while Congress ended up on the third spot on all seats.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!