Congress picks Vijay Wadettiwar as Leader of Opposition in Maharashtra Assembly

bitcoin trading

Senior Congress leader Vijay Wadettiwar appointed as the new leader of Opposition (LoP) in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly.

Earlier the party had on June 14 appointed Senior Congress leader Balasaheb Thorat appointed as Congress Legislature Party (CLP) leader of Maharashtra assembly after the resignation of Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil from the post and the party.

READ: Congress picks MLA Balasaheb Thorat as CLP Leader for Maharashtra Assembly; appoints Whips

The party had on June 14 also made crucial changes by picking the following Lawmakers for the various posts in Maharashtra Assembly:

  1. Vijay Alias Balasaheb Thorat – Leader CLP
  2. Vijay Namdeorao Wadettiwar – Leader of Lower House
  3. Mohd Arif Naseem Khan – Deputy Leader of Lower House
  4. Baswaraj M Patil Murumkar – Chief Whip
  5. Agda Chandya (KC) Padvi – Whip
  6. Sunil Chhatrapal Kedar – Whip
  7. Jayakumar Bhagwanrao Gore – Whip
  8. Yashomati Chandrakant Thakur – Whip
  9. Praniti Sushil Kumar Shinde – Whip

While the Party picked the following Lawmakers for the various posts in Maharashtra Legislative Council:

  1. Sharad Ranpise – Leader of the Upper House
  2. Adv. Ramhari G Rupnavar – Deputy Leader of the Upper House
  3. Bhai Ashok Arjun Jagtap – Whip

The appointment of CLP and LoP was necessitated after the resignation of Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil as CLP leader and Leader of Opposition in the Assembly last month amidst the national polls 2019. 

READ: Congress’s Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil resigns as Maharashtra Leader of Opposition

His son, Sujay Vikhe Patil was denied ticket to contest from Ahmednagar Parliamentary Seats by NCP who had forged an alliance in the state with Indian National Congress. Later, he joined Bharatiya Janata Party on March 12 in presence of CM Devendra Fadnavis.

Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil had early this month also step down as MLA from Maharashtra Assembly.

Congress in the state is making efforts to revive itself after facing a humiliating defeat in the recently held national polls. In the state that sends 48 MPs to the Lok Sabha Polls, NCP-Congress could only bag 5 Lok Sabha Seats with NCP winning 4 seats while one seat won by the Indian National Congress.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here