Congress tally in Telangana reduces to 9 after 10th MLA J Surender joins TRS; Set to lose Opposition Status

In a big embarrassment to Congress in Telangana, its 10th MLA shifted to TRS ahead of the Lok Sabha Polls 2019. Congress Legislator J. Surender from Yellareddy constituency in Nizamabad district officially joined trucks with K Chandrashekhar Rao‘s Telangana Rashtra Samithi and reduced the figure of a grand old party to a single digit in Telangana Assembly.

Congress had in Telangana Assembly Polls managed to won only 19 assembly seats out of the 119 seats of the state. With the exit of its 10th Lawmaker, the party’s tally in the assembly comes down to single digit and is set to lose its Opposition status in the state.

As per the rules, Opposition Status to any party can only be given when it has a minimum of 10 percent of seats in any assembly or the house.

The TRS, which had in 2018 State Polls bagged 88 seats in 119-member Assembly in the has crossed the 100 mark tally with the defection of 13 MLAs, including one legislator of the Telugu Desam Party (TDP), two independent, and 10 from Congress.

If Sources to be believed the Congress defected MLA may move to announce the merger as 2/3rd MLA of the party has already defected to the TRS.

Earlier, Sabitha Reddy, who was a former Home Minister of undivided Andhra Pradesh, along with her son Karthik Reddy joined forces with Telangana ruling party.

Facing huge embarrassment Congress has last week requested the Governor to disqualify the defectors be disqualified and asked President’s Rule to be imposed in Telangana.

A delegation of Congress leaders, led by party’s central leader and former Union Minister M Veerappa Moily, met Governor ESL Narasimhan and submitted a memorandum, requesting the Governor to direct the Assembly Speaker to disqualify MLA who defected to TRS.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here