Lok Sabha Polls: Congress releases list of 40-Star campaigners for last leg of polls in Bihar

Lucknow: Congress President Rahul Gandhi with party general secretaries Priyanka Gandhi Vadra and Jyotiraditya Madhavrao Scindia during a roadshow, in Lucknow, Monday, Feb. 11, 2019. (PTI Photo/Nand Kumar)(PTI2_11_2019_000154A)
bitcoin trading

Intensifying its hunt to make a comeback at the Centre, Congress on Wednesday released a list of its star Campaigners who will be the party’s face and will galvanize support for the party in Bihar in the last leg of the general elections 2019. The party in a letter to the election body has mentioned the names of 40 campaigners for the elections due for May 19, the last phase of polling.

The party in the list included its President Rahul GandhiSonia GandhiManmohan SinghPriyanka GandhiGhulam Nabi Azad, Shaktisinh Gohil, Tariq Anwar, and Ranjeet Ranjan, among others.

The Eight Lok Sabha Seats of the state will go to polls on May 19, the last phase of polling. Nalanda, Patna Sahib, Pataliputra, Arah, Buxar, Sasaram, Kurakat, and Jahanabad are the eight Lok Sabha Seats that will go to polls on May 19. Out of the eight Lok Sabha Seats, Congress is contesting only two seats – Sasaram and Patna Sahib where former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar and actor-turned-politician Shatrughan Sinha are taking on NDA Candidates.

In Sarsaram Lok Sabha Seat, Former Lok Sabha Speaker Meira Kumar is pitched against Chedi Paswan of National Democratic Alliance (NDA). Kumar has represented Sasaram twice in the past but lost it to BJPs Chhedi Paswan in 2014.

While in Patna Sahib Lok Sabha Seat, Shatrughan Sinha is pitched against Ravi Shankar Prasad of Bharatiya Janata Party. Sinha had on April 6 joined Congress and has been named as its candidate for the mega polls from the seat.

General Elections is being held across seven phases from April 11 to May 19. Results for the crucial Lok Sabha Polls will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Congress and RJD have forged an alliance in Bihar along with small allies like Upendra Kushwaha’s RLSP, VIP, and others. The Congress alliance in the state is taking on BJP and JDU alliance that also have LJP.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here