The Indian Wire » Politics » JD-S Karnataka Chief H Vishwanath resigns from post taking ‘moral’ responsibility of Poll Debacle
News Politics

JD-S Karnataka Chief H Vishwanath resigns from post taking ‘moral’ responsibility of Poll Debacle

Days after facing a humiliating defeat in Karnataka in the recently held national polls, Janata Dal (Secular) Karnataka Chief H Vishwanath on Tuesday stepped down from his post taking moral responsibility of the party’s poor show.

Adagur H. Vishwanath, currently an MLA in Karnataka Assembly and a former MP, talking to media said that he takes the moral responsibility for the party’s poor show in Karnataka.

JD(S) Karnataka Vishwanath was reportedly upset with the party for not being taken into the confidence on key issues.

READ: Karnataka CM HD Kumaraswamy meets Siddaramaiah, Dinesh Gundo Rao to keep coalition govt intact

JD-S State Chief was recently involved in a bitter spat with Former CM SG Siddaramaiah over the functioning of the coalition government in the state.

The JD-S and Congress Coalition government in the state is facing threat with many of legislators reportedly upset. Currently, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy and Deputy CM G Parameshwar are holding discussions with MLAs and Leaders to keep JD(S)-Congress Coalition Government intact.

The Congress-JD(S) Coalition Government in the state is facing rough patches since it is formed last year. The rough-patches between JD(S)-Congress came to the forefront during a run-up to the national polls in the Karnataka with leaders of both parties accusing each other.

The tussle between the coalition has benefited the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state which swept the polls in the state bagging 25 Lok Sabha Seat. While JD(S)-Congress Coalition which is in power in the state managed to won one seat each.

Congress after Karnataka State Polls last year has extended Support to JD(S) and Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy with an aim to keep BJP out of the power.

The Congress-JD(S) together has 117 MLAs in Karnataka Assembly earlier with Congress 79, JDS 37 and one from BSP, while BJP has 105 in the 224-member Assembly. The halfway mark is 113.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!