The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Jyotiraditya Scindia files nomination for Guna parliamentary seat in MP
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Jyotiraditya Scindia files nomination for Guna parliamentary seat in MP

Congress General Secretary Jyotiraditya Scindia on Saturday filed his nomination papers from Guna for the Lok Sabha Polls 2019. Scindia on the occasion was accompanied by his wife Priyadarshini Raje and other state leaders. Jyotiraditya Scindia who is seeking his fifth term from the Guna-Shivpuri Parliamentary Seat held a roadshow to reach Shivpuri District Collectorate Office.

Scindia has represented the seats five times since 2002. He entered Lok Sabha for the first time in 2002 in by-polls after the death of his father who was the then incumbent MP from the seat. Jyotiraditya Scindia had in 2004 Polls won the seats with 80,000 votes.

READ: Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Sadhvi Pragya gets BJP ticket from Bhopal; to take on Congress Stalwart Digvijay Singh

In 2009 Lok Sabha Polls, he defeated BJP‘s Rao Desh Raj Singh with over 4 lakh votes. In 2014 General elections, amidst massive Modi wave, Jyotiraditya Scindia managed to retain its traditional seat with over 1 lakh votes.

Apart from his, father Madhorao Scindia and Grandmother Vijayaraje Scindia also represented the Lok Sabha Seat of Guna several times. Guna and Chhindwara Lok Sabha Seat of Madhya Pradesh is considered as the stronghold of the Indian National Congress.

READ: Here is the list of Candidates announced by Congress-led UPA for Lok Sabha Polls 2019

Bharatiya Janata Party in a run-up to the mega polls has not yet declared its Candidate from Guna Lok Sabha Seat against Scindia. Scindia who has been appointed as the General Secretary for UP West early this has been tasked to revive the party in UP along with Priyanka Gandhi.

Scindia played a crucial part of the party in making a comeback in Madhya Pradesh state polls after 15 years. Congress President Rahul Gandhi is expected similar from Scindia in Uttar Pradesh. Scindia as a General Secretary of the UP has been given the responsibility of 39 Lok Sabha Seats of the state including –  Saharanpur, Kairana, Gautam Budh Nagar, Muzaffarnagar, Meerut, Baghpat among others.

Lok Sabha Polls 2019 has already begun and would spread across seven phases from April 11 to May 19.

Counting of Votes and Results for the mega Battle of ballots will be announced on May 23 four days after the 7th phase of voting.

Voting in 29 seats of Madhya Pradesh will be held across in 4 phases: April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19. In 2014 General elections, amidst heavy Modi wave, BJP swept MP with 27 seats, while Congress managed to bag only 2 seats in the state.

Guna Lok Sabha Seat will vote on May 12.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!

Shop on Amazon