The Indian Wire » Politics » Karnataka Congress In-Charge KC Venugopal to hold meet with all 21 MP candidates who lost polls
News Politics

Karnataka Congress In-Charge KC Venugopal to hold meet with all 21 MP candidates who lost polls

Karnataka Congress state In-charge KC Venugopal will hold a meeting today with 21 MP Candidates who lost last month concluded Lok Sabha elections. KC Venugopal will chair the meeting that is slated to be held in Bengaluru today.

Venugopal is expected to deliberate upon the reasons behind party poll disaster in the national polls 2019. Congress had contested the parliamentary elections in an alliance with HD Deve Gowda’s Janata Dal (Secular).

Facing trickling and ups-downs in its State Government, the Congress has yet not held discussions and deliberation to analyze the poll outcome and the reasons behind its poll debacle.

The All India Congress Committee (AICC) on June 19 decided to dissolve the present committee of Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee (KPCC). However, the party has decided to retain the president and the working president of the state.

Karnataka Congress State President Dinesh Gundu Rao speaking on the development said, ‘We made a request to Congress President Rahul Gandhi that we need to organize the committee we had made before elections.’

READ: Congress dissolves Karnakata Pradesh Committee (KPCC); retains President, working President

Congress and JD-S  Coalition government in the state is also facing threat with many of legislators reportedly upset. The Congress-JD(S) Coalition Government in the state is facing rough patches since it is formed last year.

The rough-patches between JD(S)-Congress came to the forefront during a run-up to the national polls in the Karnataka with leaders of both parties accusing each other.

The tussle between the coalition has benefited the Bharatiya Janata Party in the state which swept the national polls in the state bagging 25 Lok Sabha Seat. While JD(S)-Congress Coalition which is in power in the state managed to won one seat each.

In a move to keep the government intact, Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy had earlier this month expanded his state cabinet by inducting two independent Lawmakers in his state cabinet.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!