Mass Resignation in Congress: Leaders give Rahul Gandhi ‘free-hand’ to restructure party; ask to continue with Top post

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...
Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Mass resignation hit Congress on Friday after party Senior Leader Vivek Tankha resigned as the chairman of the party’s legal and human rights cell. He also urged others to follow him to give Rahul Gandhi to restructure the party at all levels.

Among those who step down from the post include, DPCC Working President Rajesh Lilothia, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee working president Ponnam Prabhakar, Haryana Mahila Congress chief Sumitra Chauhan, All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretaries Rajesh Dharmani and Virender Rathore, among others.

A common letter of resignation was being circulated on social media with the list of names and signatures of certain party leaders who quitted on Friday.  However, there was no official word from the party about the letter.

Reportedly, Congressmen tender their resignation in a bid to give a free hand to Rahul Gandhi to make organizational changes and continue to lead the party.

It was started with the resignation of Vivek Tankha who steps down from the top post of Law and RTI cell. Soon after that, other Congress Leaders from other states also resigned following the same.

In a tweet on Thursday, Tankha said, ‘We all should submit our resignations for party positions & give Rahul ji a free hand to choose his team. I welcome Mr Kamalnath’s statement to that effect. I unequivocally submit my resignation as AICC Dept chairman Law, RTI & HR. Party cannot afford a stalemate for too long’.

He added, ‘Rahul Ji please make drastic changes to revive the party as a fighting force. U have the commitment & determination. Just cobble a good acceptable & influential nationwide team. I am with you u in all situations’.

As reported by IANS, others who tendered the resignation include Haryana Women Congress chief Sumitra Chouhan, General Secretary Netta P Sangma of Meghalaya, Secretary Virender Rathore,  Madhya Pradesh In-charge Dipak Babaria, Goa unit chief Girish Chodankar, Chhattisgarh Secretary Anil Chaudhary, Madhya Pradesh Secretary Sudhir Chaudhary, and Haryana Secretary Satyavir Yadav.

In the last month concluded national polls, the Congress put a flop show and won 52 seats, which is only 8 more than it got in 2014 national polls. It has also lost some of its strongholds across the country including Rahul Gandhi’s Amethi in Uttar Pradesh and Jyotiraditya Scindia‘s Guna in Madhya Pradesh.

Rahul Gandhi, soon after the poll outcome, had on May 25 offered to step down from his post at the Congress Working Committee (CWC) meeting. Reportedly despite the CWC rejected his resignation, now an MP from Wayanad, Rahul Gandhi is said to be unfazed and don’t want to continue as party president.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Kurds throw rotten fruits at US troops leaving Syria

Damascus, Oct 22 (IANS) As US troops started withdrawing from the Turkey-Syrian border, Kurds from both the countries threw...

Battlefield 5 ‘War In Pacific’ Reveal Trailer Arrives on October-23

Back in June, EA and Dice hinted the fans that they are planning a move to the pacific battles with Battlefield 5, when they...

Cleric held from Bareilly in Kamlesh Tiwari murder case

Lucknow, Oct 22 (IANS) The Uttar Pradesh ATS has arrested a cleric from Bareilly, alleged to be in touch with the killers of Hindu...

Amala Paul overwhelmed on working in Telugu version of Netflix’s Lust Stories

Amala Paul is a well established name in the Telugu cinema who is known for her work in successful films like Thiruttu Payale 2, Amma...

‘Syria offensive to resume if Kurds don’t withdraw’

Ankara, Oct 22 (IANS) Turkey has threatened to resume its offensive on the northern Syrian border if Kurdish militias do not clear the area...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This