Lok Sabha Elections 2019: CJC chief Ajit Jogi leaves Chattisgarh uncontested for ally BSP

Must Read

Howdy, Modi! : World media reactions on Modi-Trump’ grand Houston Event address

New Delhi, Sep 23: United States President Donald Trump and Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi on late Sunday shared...

Howdy Modi : Modi-Trump mark history in US-India relationship with great show at Houston

Houston, Sep 22:  Modi, delivering his speech at the historic event, talks about the development underwent over five years...

ECI announces dates of Maharashtra & Haryana elections; Single Phase Election on October 21; Result on 24th

Election Commission of India has announced the dates of much-awaited state elections. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, Sunil...

The former Chief Minister and Chhattisgarh Janata Congress (CJC) supremo Ajit Jogi is all set to withdraw his party from the upcoming elections.

Ajit Jogi was a former Congress leader. He floated his own party (Chhattisgarh Janata Party) in 2015.

The state was created in the year 2000, and since then Ajit Jogi has always been contesting the elections.

The decision of withdrawing his party from the upcoming General Elections will make it the first ever election in the state since its emergence, without the CJC supremo as a electoral contender.

Before the 2018 Assembly Elections, Ajit Jogi presented himself as an alternative to the Congress and the BJP by entering into an alliance with Mayawati’s BSP.

Ajit Jogi said that ” I thought I will be the king-maker as I estimated a hung assembly and our alliance (BSP-CJC) would win about 15 assembly seats”.

However, that did not happen as the BSP-CJC alliance had to settle for only 7 seats and Congress got a two-third majority by winning 68 of the 90 Assembly seats in Chattisgarh.

Ajit Jogi’s party got 5 seats in the Assembly Elections. Of the five seats CJC got, the Marwai constituency was won by Ajit Jogi and Kota seat by his wife Renu Jogi.

The ruling BJP was confined to 15 seats.

Many Political experts are of the opinion that Jogi helped the Congress as the party became more acceptable to the influential OBCs, who constitute about 54% of Odisha’s population, and had backed the BJP earlier.

Ajit Jogi said that his alliance got about 15% of the vote share, which according to him is a ‘solid base’ for future Assembly Elections.

Also, the BSP, has announced 6 candidates for the Lok Sabha Election without consulting him. BSP is Jogi’s alliance partner for the Assembly Polls.

However, Jogi has not decided whether he will campaign for the BSP or not.

Chhattisgarh, has 11 Lok Sabha seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Trump lauds relations with Italy, Rome seeks trade dialogue (Lead)

Washington, Oct 16 (IANS/AKI) Ties between Italy and the US "have never been so good", US President Donald Trump...

Libyan conflict risks destabilising Africa: Italy

Washington, Oct 16 (IANS/AKI) The protracted conflict in Libya could destabilise the whole of Africa, Italian President Sergio Mattarella said on Wednesday after talks...

Good friends buy Pakistan four months to ‘eliminate’ terror financing – But can it?

New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) With all-weather friend China heading the FATF, and backed by two other "brotherly countries" of Malaysia and Turkey, Pakistan...

Telcos passing off wirelines as mobile numbers to evade charges: Jio

New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) Reliance Jio has alleged incumbents, including state-run BSNL, Bharti Airtel and Vodafone Idea, have fraudulently masquerading wireline numbers as...

Vice President watches ‘Sye Raa…’ with Chiranjeevi

Hyderabad/ New Delhi, Oct 16 (IANS) Vice President M. Venkaiah Naidu on Wednesday watched Telugu movie "Sye Raa Narasimha Reddy" along with its lead...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This