Lok Sabha Polls: BJP candidate from Cooch Behar asks for re-poll in 500 booths; Alleges TMC rigging in Phase 1

Voters line up to cast their votes outside a polling station during the first phase of general election in Alipurduar district in the eastern state of West Bengal, India, April 11, 2019. REUTERS/Rupak De Chowdhuri TPX IMAGES OF THE DAY

Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) candidate Nishit Pramanik from Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal held a sit-in-protest in front of the District Magistrate’s office on Thursday during the first phase of Lok Sabha Polls. He demanded a re-poll in 500 polling booths where the state police were deployed. Nishit Pramanik accused the ruling Trinamool Congress in the state of rigging in the Cooch Behar Lok Sabha seat during the polls.

A similar complaint from the candidate of BJP was lodged in from Alipurduar John Balra who alleged rigging by Trinamool Congress (TMC) workers in some booths in the area.

However, the central police observer, Vivek Dubey appreciated the proceedings in the first phase of Lok Sabha elections applauding the peaceful voters.  Vivke Dubey said, “The first phase of the polls went off peacefully. The state police, as well as the central forces, did a commendable job. Overall polling was good…very good in the Alipurduar and Cooch Behar constituencies.

Pramanik alleged the TMC workers saying that the police force was deployed from 500 booths. The security guards had a scuffle with the local police. Accusing the TMC, Pramanik said, “We want re-polling in 500 booths due to massive rigging by TMC cadres. If the demands asked by us go ignorant, then we are sure to go for a massive protest.”

BJP and TMC got in a fight during the polls in Cooch Behar’s Dinhata. Polling was halted for half an hour in the Rashamanta High School when the BJP and TMc supporters clashed with each other. Previously, Similar incidents were reported from the Mathabhanga and Natabari constituencies in West Bengal.

Cooch Behar had 2,010 polling stations whereas Alipurduar (ST) had 1,834 polling stations.

The Lok Sabha elections in West Bengal will be in seven phases. The second phase of the Lok Sabha Polls will be held on April 18 in Darjeeling, Jalpaiguri, and Raiganj.


Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Bhim Army announce Support to Congress-NCP in Maharashtra; Congress in Saharanpur

Mamata Banerjee to begin Lok Sabha Poll Campaign on International Women’s Day

CBI vs West Bengal Police: Opposition’s Uproar halts Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha proceedings


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here