Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath takes oath as MLA

Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister Kamal Nath Monday on Monday took oath as MLA after getting elected from Chhindwara Assembly seat in a by-election held along with Lok Sabha Polls 2019.

Kamal Nath was appointed as Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh in December last year after Congress stormed back to power in the state after 15 years.

Nath was at that time an MP from Chhindwara Lok Sabha Seat. However, to become a member of the legislative assembly, he contested the by-polls.

Vidhan Sabha Speaker NP Prajapati administered the oath to Kamal Nath in the Assembly Hall today. According to rules, Kamal Nath had to get elected to the MP Assembly within six months of holding any ministerial office.

In the by-polls held simultaneously with Lok Sabha Polls, Kamal Nath defeated BJP‘s Vivek Sahul by a margin of 25,800 votes.

The By-poll was necessitated after Congress MLA Deepak Saxena quit the MP House to make way for the chief minister to enter the assembly.

After taking oath as MLA, he said his government’s first priority is agriculture and the aim would be to make farmers self-sufficient and debt-free. He added that his government will also focus on the issue of employment of Youths.

Kamal Nath had in December last year hours after assuming office as MP CM announced to write-off the loans of the farmers.

In the recently held national polls, Congress faced a humiliating defeat in the state and managed to win a single seat of Chhindwara from where Kamal Nath’s son Nakul Nath emerge a winner. Jyotiraditya Scindia lost his bastion of Guna, while Former CM Digvijay Singh lost to Malegaon blast accused Sadhvi Pragya Thakur from Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat.

Congress had in December last year came to power after 15 years. In state polls that held in December last year, Congress fell short of a majority by 2 seats. Congress ended up with 114 seats in 230 assembly seat state. However, with the support of the BSP and Samajwadi Party, it is currently in power.

Bhartiya Janta Party won 109 seats while BSP, Samajwadi Party, and Independent won 2, 1 and 4 seats.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here