The Indian Wire » Politics » Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Malegaon Blast Accused Sadhvi Pragya joins BJP; likely to contest from Bhopal
News Politics

Lok Sabha Polls 2019: Malegaon Blast Accused Sadhvi Pragya joins BJP; likely to contest from Bhopal

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur, an accused in the 2008 Malegaon blasts, on Wednesday joined Bharatiya Janata Party in the middle of on-going national elections 2019. Sadhvi joined Bhartiya Janata Party in Madhya Pradesh’s Bhopal by meeting Former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan and other State Top Leaders.

She after joining BJP asserted Confidence of winning the Lok Sabha Polls. Speaking to media after joining the party, Sadhvi Pragya said, ‘I have formally joined the BJP, I will contest elections and will definitely win. It won’t be difficult for me’ she said while talking to the press.

If speculations to believe BJP is likely to pitch him against Congress Stalwart Digvijay Singh from Bhopal parliamentary Seat.

Sadhvi Pragya has been charged in the Malegaon Blast. On September 29, 2008, two bombs fitted on a motorcycle exploded, killing seven people and injuring over 100 in Malegaon in Maharashtra, around 270 km from Mumbai. She is currently out on a bail in the case.

Sadhvi Pragya Singh Thakur has been associated with Bharatiya Janata Party’s student wing Akhil Bhartiya Vidhyarthi Parishad (ABVP) and ‘Durga Vahini’ or women’s wing of the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP).

It should be noted that the Court had dropped provisions of the Maharashtra Control of Organised Crime Act (MCOCA) against Sadhvi Pragya, but she is being tried under the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA).

If BJP name Sadhvi Pragya from the Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat, she will be taking on the Congress Stalwart Digvijay Singh.

Bhopal Lok Sabha Seat is considered as a stronghold of the saffron party. BJP had held the seat 8 times since 1989, Congress had last won an election in 1984 on the seat. In 2014 General Elections, BJP’s Alok Sanjar defeated Congress’ PC Sharma with over 3.5 lakh votes.

BJP Senior Leader Uma Bharti had in 1999 won from the seat by defeating Congress’ Suresh Pachori with over 1.7 lakh votes.

General Elections have already started and would spread on Seven Phases starting from April 11 to May 19. Election Commission had on March 10 declared schedule for General Elections 2019.

Voting in 29 seats of Madhya Pradesh will be held across in 4 phases: April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19.

In 2014 General elections, amidst heavy Modi wave, BJP swept MP with 27 seats, while Congress managed to bag only 2 seats in the state.


Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!


Shop on Amazon