Mamata, Mayawati and Akhilesh to skip swearing-in ceremonies in MP, Rajasthan and Chhattishgarh

Prominent Oppositions faces Mamata Banerjee, Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati will not attend the swearing-in ceremonies of three Congress chief ministers in Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh on Monday.

The decision came despite the BSP Supremo Mayawati on Wednesday announced its support to Congress to help to form a government in Madhya Pradesh, where it fell short of a majority by 2 seats. Samajwadi Party Chief Akhilesh Yadav also extended its support to Congress after it completely dethroned the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party in recently concluded assembly elections 2018 from three Hindi heartland states – Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh.

Meanwhile, BSP leader said party MLAs and the office bearers of the BSP unit will attend the swearing-in ceremony of Kamal Nath at Bhopal. Samajwadi Party Chief Yadav also nominated its representative to the attend the function. In a tweet on Sunday evening, he conveyed his greetings to Kamal Nath for the ceremony.

The absence of prominent opposition faces is a big setback for the Congress, who wants to use the stage as an opportunity to showcase a united face of the opposition ahead of the Lok Sabha elections 2019.

While, from Trinamool Congress, its member of Parliament Dinesh Trivedi will be representing the party at the event.

While Ashok Gehlot and Sachin Pilot take oath as chief minister and deputy chief minister of Rajasthan, respectively, in Jaipur at 10 am, Kamal Nath will be sworn in as Madhya Pradesh CM in Bhopal at 1.30pm on Monday.

Bhupesh Baghel will take oath as Chhattisgarh CM in Raipur at 5 pm on Monday.

While Other opposition leaders including Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister and TDP Boss N Chandrababu Naidu, his Karnataka counterpart HD Kumaraswamy, Nationalist Congress Party president Sharad Pawar, National Conference president Farooq Abdullah, Loktantrik Janta Dal chief Sharad Yadav, RJD Tejashwi Yadav, RLSP Chief Upendra Kushwaha, MK Stalin and DMK leader Kanimozhi will attend the events in Rajasthan and Madhya Pradesh apart from many other faces. Senior Aam Aadmi Party leader Sanjay Singh is also expected to attend Gehlot’s swearing-in ceremony in Jaipur.

ALSO READ: MK Stalin Backs Rahul Gandhi as the Prime Ministerial Candidate for Upcoming Lok Sabha Elections 2019


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here