Mass resignation jolts BJP in Northeast; 18 lawmakers resign to join NPP

In a major blow to the BJP, 18 BJP leaders including 2 ministers and 6 lawmakers, have submitted their resignation, in Arunachal Pradesh.

In the coming weeks, the state is set to go to polls for the Assembly elections as well as the Lok Sabha elections, on 11th April.

The former BJP leaders joined Conrad Sangma’s NPP (National People’s Party) which an ally to the BJP for the coming Lok Sabha elections.

Over the last week, a total of 25 leaders quit the saffron party in North East.

In Arunachal Pradesh, Home Minister Kumar Waii, Tourism Minister Jarkar Gamlin, BJP General Secretary Jarpum Gambin, and six other legislators are among those who have resigned from the BJP.

Home Minister Kumar Waii said, “They (BJP) attack the Congress on dynasty politics but look at Arunachal Pradesh. The Chief Minister’s family has got three tickets.”

Also, in Tripura, BJP’s Tripura Unit vice-president, Subal Bhowmik, on Tuesday, quit the BJP and joined the Congress.

It is largely rumoured that the Congress would nominate him as its candidate from West Tripura Lok Sabha constituency.

Union Minister and BJP leader Kiren Rijiju said that the decision on the distribution of tickets was made by the Central Election Committee.

He said, “Party ticket is an internal matter of the party. As per the recommendation of state election committee, final decision was taken by the central election committee. Yes, sitting ministers were denied tickets, but that’s because of the ground situation assessed by the parliamentary board.”

However, the NPP(National People’s Party) is expected to announce the final list of its candidates by Wednesday.

Meanwhile, the BJP has already declared a list of 54 candidates for the Assembly polls.

Senior NPP leader Thomas Sangma said that their party would field candidates in at least 30-40 seats out of the 60 Assembly seats in Arunachal Pradesh and further aims to form the government on their own.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here