The Indian Wire » Politics » Karnataka Crisis: Mayawati directs BSP MLA N Mahesh to back HD Kumaraswamy govt in Floor Test

Karnataka Crisis: Mayawati directs BSP MLA N Mahesh to back HD Kumaraswamy govt in Floor Test

Ahead of the trust vote of the coalition government in Karnataka, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) Supremo Mayawati on Sunday directed her lone legislator, N Mahesh, to back the coalition government led by Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy.

‘Ms. Mayawati Ji, the national president of the BSP, has directed the party’s Karnataka MLA to vote in support of coalition government led by Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy’ stated Mayawati in her official Twitter Handle.

HD Kumaraswamy-led coalition government, on Friday failed to meet the two deadlines set by the Governor Vajubhai Vala for the Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy to prove the majority in the House. Now, the trust vote is now scheduled for Monday after the adjournment of House on Monday.

Talking to media after the session of the Assembly, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) State President BS Yeddyurappa slammed the JD-S and Congress coalition government and said ‘Monday will be the last day for the coalition government’.

It should be noted that the state Governor Vajubhai Vala has on Friday again sent a letter to CM asking to prove his majority by 6 pm today. The second letter came after the Assembly skipped the first deadline of 1:30 pm set by Governor to prove the majority.

In the meantime, Congress State Chief Dinesh Gundu Rao moved to the Apex Court seeking clarification on the Top Court’s previous order. In his plea to the Top Court, Dinesh Gundu Rao claimed that the Supreme Court Verdict of July 17 had violated the right of a political party to issue a whip to all its legislators.

The Supreme Court last week ruled that the 15 rebel MLAs cannot be compelled to take part in the proceedings of the House.

The 13-months old coalition government suffered a huge setback earlier this month when 11 MLAs from CongressJD(S) ruling coalition tendered their resignation. And thereafter political episode and drama started in Karnataka. Later on, many other MLAs also tendered their resignation taking the tally to over 15 till now.


About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!