The Indian Wire » Politics » Modi government reshuffles top bureaucracy; Rajiv Gauba made new Cabinet Secretary
News Politics

Modi government reshuffles top bureaucracy; Rajiv Gauba made new Cabinet Secretary

Modi administration undertook a major reshuffle in the cabinet secretariat at the top-level on Wednesday. Home Secretary Rajiv Gauba has been now made as Cabinet Secretary for two years with his tenure starting from August 30, 2019.

Rajiv Gauba, a 1982 batch IAS officer from Jharkhand cadre is set to replace PK Sinha. PK Sinha was selected as Cabinet Secretary in 2015 for 2 years. After the end of his 2-year tenure in 2017, he got further extensions. Rajiv Gauba has also been made as Officer on Special Duty in the Cabinet Secretariat until 30 August.

Department of Personnel and Training has issued the orders of appointment. The mentioned appointments have been cleared by the prior approval of Appointments Committee of the Cabinet headed by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Appointments Committee of the Cabinet has also appointed Ajay Kumar Bhalla, Officer on Special Duty, Ministry of Home Affairs as new Home Secretary of Ministry of Home Affairs.

Defence secretariat also saw a reshuffle in its top bureaucratic order. Ajay Kumar who was earlier the Secretary of Defence Production has been now made the Secretary of Defence. Ajay Kumar is a 1985 batch IAS officer hailing from Kerala cadre. He will replace Sanjay Mitra (1982 batch IAS officer of West Bengal cadre), who was the former Defence Secretary for more than two years.

Now in Defence Production, Ajay Kumar will be replaced by Subhash Chandra, a 1986 batch Karnataka cadre IAS officer. Subhash Chandra is currently serving as Special Secretary, Department of Defence.

Brij Kumar Agarwal, a 1985 batch IAS officer from Himachal Pradesh has been appointed as Secretary, Lokpal.

ALSO READ: Punjab CM Amarinder Singh writes to PM Modi; seeks Rs 1000 crore for flood-relief

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!