MoS Jitendra Singh moves Right to Information (RTI) Bill Amendment Bill, 2019, for passage in Lok Sabha

Minister of State (MoS) for Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions Jitendra Singh on Monday moved the Right to Information (RTI) Amendment Bill, 2019, in the lower house of the parliament for the discussions and the passage.

Speaking in Lok Sabha, MoS Jitendra Singh said that the Right to Information Amendment Bill, 2019, seeks to remove some of the anomalies in the Act of 2015.

Minister of State (MoS) in the Prime Minister’s Office Jitendra Singh asserted that the proposed bill is aimed at institutionalization, streamlining and ease of delivery of RTI Act.

Further speaking in the lower house of the parliament, Jitendra Singh said that the Chief Information Commissioner‘s status is regarded at par with the Chief Election Commissioner, which becomes equal to Chief Justice of India.

The Minister of State (MoS) also asserted the confidence that members will respect the spirit through which the bill has been brought up by the Government. He also assured all the members that the government, with an open mind, will look into all the suggestions.

READ: Amid Opposition protest, Union Government introduces RTI Amendment Bill in Lok Sabha

Earlier, The Central Government on Friday tabled the RTI Amendment Bill 2019 in the Lower House of the Parliament amid the opposition protest. The Right to Information Amendment Bill sought to allow the Union Government to decide on the term and salaries of state and central information commissioners.

Earlier on Friday, Minister of State (MoS) slammed the previous United Progressive Alliance (UPA) government was enacting the law in 2005 without adding proper rules. MoS said that the present government is committed to transparency and the commitment should not be questioned.

Slamming the UPA Government, Minister of State Jitendra Singh slammed UPA and said, ‘You have made a clumsy Act in haste. We are only trying to strengthen it,” Singh claimed.

Opposition parties including CongressTrinamool Congress (TMC)DMK and Bahujan Samaj Party opposed the introduction of the amendment bill in Lok Sabha and later staged a walkout.

While other opposition leaders including Shashi Tharoor of Congress, Asaduddin Owaisi of AIMIM and Mulayam Singh Yadav of Samajwadi Party, among others voted against the introduction of the bill.

In total, 224 votes came in favor of the introduction of the bill and a mere nine against it.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here