The Indian Wire » Politics » MP Polls: Ballot beats Bullet in Naxal-affected area of state

MP Polls: Ballot beats Bullet in Naxal-affected area of state

More than 80% voters in three constituencies of Naxal-affected Balaghat district in exercised their franchise on Wednesday in Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections.

Polling in Baihar, Lanjhi and Parswada constituencies in Balaghat district was held from 7 am to 5 pm for security reasons, official sources said. Durg collector Vijay Singh said Balaghat district recorded 79 to 80% voting with a huge turnout in Baihar, Lanjhi, and Parswada and recorded a total turnout of 81, 79, and 84% respectively.

Over 17000-strong security personnel including a BSF Chopper were deployed to ensure smooth and peaceful polling. “All of our poll staff are safe and are returning to the headquarters. There was no significant problem at any of the booths,” Singh added.

EVM glitches were reported during the trial voting sessions. Around 69 VVPATs had to be replaced.

Polling in other three remaining constituencies of the Balaghat district – Balaghat, Katangi and Waraseoni – seat from Sanjay Singh Masani is on the fray– continued till 5 pm. Security was enhanced in Balaghat with intelligence inputs on Maoist movement in the remote areas.

A total of 74.6% turnout recorded in the Madhya Pradesh Assembly Elections.

The Counting in the state is slated for December 11 with other four states assembly elections.

Also Read: Over 73% total turnout recorded on Wednesday in Mizoram

About the author


Part-time Traveler| Full-time Political Enthusiast | Foodie | Strong Believer of Freedom of Speech and Expressions!

Add Comment

Click here to post a comment

Reach out to The Indian Wire!

Want to work with us? Looking to share some feedback or suggestion? Have a business opportunity to discuss?

You can reach out to us at [email protected] and we will get back in minutes.

Like us on Facebook!