A fortnight before MP elections, BJP expels 53 leaders on discipline grounds

Must Read

Jharkhand polls for 81 constituencies from November 30 to December 20; counting on 23rd December

Addressing a press meeting today, Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora has announced the poll dates for Jharkhand Legislative assembly....

Congress forms six-member committee of AICC to review situation of NRC in Assam

In a bid to review the condition of Assam state after the implementation of the NRC exercise, Congress party...

Shiv Sena elects Eknath Shinde as party’s legislative leader; Sunil Prabhu appointed as chief whip of party

In a striking breakthrough, Shiv Sena elected senior minister Eknath Shinde as the party's legislative leader today. It has...

The Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) in Madhya Pradesh has expelled as many as 53 rebel leaders from the party for “indiscipline” on Thursday. In a strict action taken against the renegades ahead of the upcoming Assembly elections, BJP has removed senior leaders like Sartaj Singh, former minister Ramkrishna Kusmaria and Bhind MLA Narendra Kushwaha from the party.

Singh, who deserted the party for the Congress after being denied ticket from the Seoni-Malwa constituency cried in public after his name did not figure in BJP’s list of candidates. The MLA then joined the Congress last week and was immediately named as the Opposition party’s nominee for the Hoshangabad Assembly seat. Whereas, Kusmaria announced that he will contest as an independent.

Former Gwalior mayor Samiksha Gupta, Lata Mehsaki, Dheeraj Pateria and Raj Kumar Yadav were also removed from the party. Gupta has herself announced that she has quit the party and will be contesting the 28 November elections as an independent candidate.

Both the BJP and the Congress are facing a rebellion within party over disappointment with the ticket distribution.

Madhya Pradesh has a 230-member Assembly and sources from both parties believe that these rebels could prove to be the decisive factor in at least 30-odd seats.

Madhya Pradesh will go to polls on 28 November in a single-phase election. Results will be declared on 11 December.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -

Latest News

Pawar, Thackeray, Raut in midnight rendezvous

Mumbai, Nov 22 (IANS) Inching towards forming the Maharashtra government, Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) President Sharad Pawar had a...

165 in fray for Karnataka assembly by-elections

Bengaluru, Nov 21 (IANS) A total of 165 candidates, including 126 Independents and 9 women, are in the fray for the 15 Assembly by-elections...

Anand eyes London through Tata Steel Chess tournament

Kolkata, Nov 21 (IANS) Five-time world champion Viswanathan Anand will have his eyes on London when he begins his campaign in the Tata Steel...

Several big names from Delhi in race for Goa DGP

New Delhi, Nov 21 (IANS) After the death of 1988 batch AGMUT cadre IPS officer Pranav Nanda, several big names from the IPS lobby...

Mamata nod to ministers’ public outbursts against me: Guv

Kolkata, Nov 21 (IANS) Facing a barrage of verbal counter-attacks from West Bengal ministers, Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar on Thursday targeted Chief Minister Mamata Baenrjee,...
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This