Nagaland Governor asks TR Zeliang to submit a writ petition; Postpones floor test

Nagaland has seen three Chief Ministers since 2014 and yet another change in the government is possible looking at the prevailing situations in the state.

Shürhozelie Liezietsu assumed office as the new CM of Nagaland after the former CM TR Zeliang resigned from the post on 22 Feb. Zeliang resigned following the violent protest by tribal groups who were opposing his move to hold civic polls with 33 per cent women’s reservation.

After Liezietsu became the CM he has expelled many of his minister on the ground of them practicing anti-party activities. Shürhozelie Liezietsu chief of NPF party also recently replaced the DAN Chairman TR Zeliang.

The possibilities of again a change in the government arose after TR Zeliang wrote a letter to the governor pleading to form a government with the support of 41 out of 59 MLAs.

Responding to the situation Governor of Nagaland PB Acharya on Tuesday had issued a notice to Shürhozelie Liezietsu to prove his majority on the floor of the Assembly by July 15. But as the Presidential Polls are scheduled for 17 July, the governor postpones the floor test. Though no date has been decided yet but soon another notice will be issued to Liezietsu.

PB Acharya has also asked TR Zeliang to submit a writ petition to Speaker Imtiwapang Aier with at least “ten opposition legislators to move the no confidence motion in a house of opposition-less government”.